Bath Rugby End of Season Annual Awards Dinner 2012

30 April 2012

The Pavilion in Bath was buzzing on Thursday night as Bath Rugby hosted our prestigious End of Season Awards Dinner. Always a popular event in the season's calendar this year over 400 sponsors, guests, players, partners and staff joined us for what was a fantastic evening.

Dressed in their finery, the guests were welcomed with champagne & canapés before taking their seats for the beginning of the presentations and awards.

In addition to our formal awards this year Duncan Bell was presented with his cap for achieving over 200 appearances for Bath by former player Richard Lee. And, as was to be expected, the evening did not pass without a special mention and thank you to those players who are leaving the Club at the end of the season and of course a special tribute to retiring players Andy Beattie, Duncan Bell and Lewis Moody.

This year there was also a new award which was sponsored by Mallory's and voted for by our Supporters themselves; the Supporters' Player of the Year. One lucky winner was selected from all who took the time to vote and we were delighted to welcome Jan Cattermoul and her guest to the evening. Jan was also presented with her TAG Heuer watch worth £1000 which was kindly donated by Bath Rugby's Official Timekeeper, Mallory. Thank you to all who voted and indeed to Mallory Jewellers.

The Winners of the evening were:

Community Player of the Year sponsored by Herman Miller

Winner: Ben Skirving

Spirit of Rugby Award sponsored by Thrings

Nominees: Josh Ovens, Mark McMillan, Jerry Quinn

Winner: Mark McMillan

Top Try Scorer sponsored by Getronics

3rd Matt Banahan
2nd Olly Woodburn

1st Tom Biggs

Most Improved Player sponsored by Polamco

Nominees: Guy Mercer, Tom Heathcote, Olly Woodburn

Winner Tom Heathcote

Try of the Season sponsored by Thatchers

Nominees Biggs (v Worcester) Carraro (v Leicester)
Claassens (v London Irish) Perenise (v Northampton)

Winner Carraro (v Leicester)

Supporters Player of the Year sponsored by Mallorys

3rd Olly Woodburn
2nd Francois Louw

1st Tom Biggs

Best Forward sponsored by The Baines Family

Nominees Ryan Caldwell Francois Louw Simon Taylor

Winner Ryan Caldwell

Best Back sponsored by Wadworth 6X

Nominees Nick Abendanon Tom Biggs Tom Heathcote

Winner Tom Biggs

Players Player of the Year sponsored by Novia

3rd Simon Taylor
2nd Ryan Caldwell

1st Francois Louw

We hope all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening and would like to extend our thanks to the sponsors of the evening Novia, Wadworth 6X, Thatchers, Thrings, Herman Miller, Mallory, Polamco, The Baines Family and Getronics.

Members of the Bath Rugby Academy also auctioned off a 'Come Dine With Me' experience. The package included a three course menu created by the boys who then prepare and cook the food, with the help of the Bath Rugby's Head Chef Jerry Quinn, serving it to 12 guests at Farleigh House. Thanks to all who took part in the auction and we are pleased to say that it raised a fantastic amount for the 'Million Makers' scheme they are participating in set up by the Princes Trust. The project aims to help disadvantaged children in the South West and Wales. The Princes Trust helps seven thousand children a year costing roughly seven million pounds. The Bath Rugby Academy team, Brighter Ambitions, aim to raise ten thousand pounds for the charity in total.

Finally, the evening was brought together by a superb team and we must say a big thanks to Enlightened Lighting, Bath Pavilion, Fosters Event Caterers and David Trick our fantastic host of the evening.

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.