Woodburn and Heathcote nominated for LV= Breakthrough Player Award

30 January 2012

Bath Rugby's Olly Woodburn and Tom Heathcote have been nominated for the LV= Breakthrough Player Award, following their impressive performances in this season's LV= Cup.

Both players have had an instrumental part to play in Bath's success so far in the LV= Cup, with the Club currently sitting top of their pool and maximum points taken from all three games. Wing Woodburn has scored a try in each game so far, whilst fly-half Heathcote has scored 27 points throughout the tournament, including a try against Worcester Warriors.

The award, designed to recognise a new player who has stood out in the 2011-12 competition, is backed by England head coach Stuart Lancaster. The group of 20 young players nominated will be whittled down to six by a panel of rugby experts, including Martin Bayfield (ITV), Ieuan Evans (Sky) , Gwyn Jones (S4C), and Gavin Mairs (Telegraph).

The winner will then be chosen by supporters, selecting who they feel has made an outstanding contribution to the competition this season.

The player with the highest number of nominations will receive a Tag Heuer watch plus £1,000 donated to a local grassroots club of their choice and of course, the inaugural LV= Cup Breakthrough Player trophy.

As England head coach Stuart Lancaster comments, the LV= Cup competition provides an excellent breeding ground for academy players to experience first team action.

"It's great to see LV= recognising the talent on offer in this competition through the LV= Breakthrough Player Award. There is a huge wealth of up and coming talent on show in the LV= Cup, and we've seen first-hand some of the exceptional players it has helped produce.

"The panel will have a tough job on their hands selecting the final six, as everyone included in the shortlist deserves recognition of the contribution they have made to their team during the competition. Best of luck to all those nominated!"

The LV= Cup is credited for playing a crucial role in the development of elite players and the introduction of the LV= Breakthrough Player Award aims to recognise and celebrate this talent.

Voting begins on Monday 6 February via, and closes at midnight on Sunday 11 March. The winner will be announced on Tuesday 13 March.

LV= Cup Breakthrough Player 20 shortlist:

Pool 1

Bath Rugby – Olly Woodburn & Tom Heathcote

Saracens – Jamie George

London Wasps – Elliot Daly

Ospreys - Matthew Morgan

Pool 2

London Irish – Jonathan Joseph & Steve Shingler

Leicester Tigers – George Ford & Sam Harrison

Cardiff Blues - Dan Fish

Sale Sharks – Rob Miller

Pool 3

Scarlets - Adam Warren &  Liam Williams

Harlequins – Luke Wallace

Newcastle Falcons – Joel Hodgson

Gloucester Rugby – Jonny May

Pool 4

Northampton Saints – Jamie Elliott

Exeter Chiefs - Dave Ewers

Newport Gwent-Dragons - Steffan Jones

Worcester Warriors – Matt Kvesic

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.