Webber leads England against the Barbarians

24 May 2013

Rob Webber captains England for the first time against the Barbarians at Twickenham Stadium on Sunday, kick-off 13.00.

He will be joined by tighthead David Wilson and second row Dave Attwood in the starting XV, with Kyle Eastmond looking to make hist first appearance for the senior side from the bench.

The Bath Rugby hooker leads a youthful side that  with 21 year-olds Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors) and Marland Yarde (London Irish) pulling on a senior shirt for the first time. England's starting line-up contains nine players aged 24 or under.

Other replacements for the non-cap game include four more making their first appearances at this level in lock Kearnan Myall (unattached), scrum half Haydn Thomas (Exeter Chiefs), prop Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks) and number eight Billy Vunipola (London Wasps).

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We've selected a young and exciting side and this is a great opportunity for these players who have shone in the Aviva Premiership this season to step up in front of passionate home crowd at Twickenham Stadium.

"Taking on a very experienced Barbarians team is the first challenge they face this summer with matches in Uruguay and Argentina to follow and this sequence of games is a key part of our development as a team.

"Rob Webber finished the season strongly with Bath and I know his leadership qualities well. I am sure he'll show the way backed up by the other senior players in the team."

ENGLAND (v Barbarians, Sunday 13.00, Twickenham Stadium)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 16 caps)

14 Christian Wade (Wasps, uncapped)

13 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish, 4 caps)

12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)

11 Marland Yarde (London Irish, uncapped)

10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 12 caps)

1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish, 18 caps)

2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, captain, 3 caps)

3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 9 caps)

5 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)

6 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs, 5 caps)

7 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps)


16 David Paice (London Irish, 6 caps)

17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 10 caps)

18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

19 Kearnan Myall (Unattached, uncapped)

20 Billy Vunipola (London Wasps, uncapped)

21 Haydn Thomas (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

22 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)

23 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.