Watson wins first start for England

13 November 2014

Bath Rugby's Anthony Watson will start his first international for England in Saturday's QBE International against South Africa at Twickenham, kick-off 14.30.

Watson replaces Bath teammate Semesa Rokoduguni on the right wing in the only change to the starting line-up from the match against New Zealand.

The in-form young back joins his fellow club players Dave Attwood, Kyle Eastmond and David Wilson in the starting XV, with George Ford and Rob Webber named on the bench.

Dylan Hartley and Courtney Lawes have successfully completed the Graduated Return to Play protocol and will take part in today's training session.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "Anthony has been pushing hard for a while and has been in impressive form for Bath and in training with us. It was great that he got on against New Zealand and we feel he is ready to start. Equally, it's good to have Marland back in the match-day 23.

"Congratulations to Danny Care who will be winning his 50th cap. It'll be a special moment for him and I am sure he will rise to the occasion.

"I know the players are looking forward to the challenge. South Africa have quality and experience across the park and it will be a big test for us."

Don't forget you can cheer the Bath boys on as they take on the Springboks ahead of our Aviva Premiership clash with Newcastle Falcons. We'll be opening the gates to the Rec at 14.00 in time for kick-off at Twickenham, with the game being shown in the Swift Half and Clubhouse.

Tickets are still available for the game against Newcastle, so book yours now and join us for this exciting rugby double-header! Call 0844 448 1865, or book online here.

England team to face South Africa

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 30 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
13 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 19 caps)
12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 8 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 26 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 49 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 23 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 58 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 38 caps)
4 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 33 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 31 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 29 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 11 caps)


16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
17 Matt Mullan (Wasps, 6 caps)
18 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons, 3 caps)
19 George Kruis (Saracens, 1 cap)
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 24 caps)
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 39 caps)
22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)
23 Marland Yarde (Harlequins, 5 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.