Watson, Underhill and Joseph included in matchday 23 to face Australia

17 October 2019

Bath Rugby's Anthony Watson and Sam Underhill have been named in Eddie Jones' England side set to face Australia in the Rugby World Cup quarter-finals on Saturday at Oita Stadium, with Jonathan Joseph named among the replacements (kick-off 08:15 GMT, live on ITV). 

The match-up will be the seventh encounter between the two sides since they last met in the 2015 Rugby World Cup, with England winning all six since then.

Captain Owen Farrell is named at fly-half with Manu Tuilagi and Henry Slade selected as the centre pairing.

Jonny May will make his 50th appearance for England on Saturday and is named on the left wing with Watson on the right. Elliot Daly is selected at full-back.

Billy Vunipola starts at number 8 having recovered from injury with Tom Curry and Underhill named as flankers.

Mako Vunipola makes his first start in Japan having played in his first game of the tournament against Argentina from the bench.

Jones said: “Once you get to the quarter-finals it’s about having the right mindset. We know how well we can play, it’s about us playing to our strengths and trying to take away from what Australia want.

“Australia are a clever team, they will have some specific attacking strategies to play against us so we need to have a great situational awareness. We need to defend with brutality and when we have the ball we need play on top of them.”

England team to face Australia

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 36 caps)
14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 39 caps)
13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
12. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)
11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 49 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 76 caps) C
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 92 caps)
1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 55 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 42 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 28 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 31 caps)
5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 78 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 16 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 48 caps)

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps)
17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 65 caps)
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 92 caps)
19. George Kruis (Saracens, 38 caps)
20. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
21. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 7 caps)
22. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 62 caps)
23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 44 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.