Wales call-up for James

21 October 2014

Bath Rugby loosehead prop Paul James has been named in Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland's experienced 34-man squad for the forthcoming Dove Men Series that features just one uncapped player.

Ospreys prop Nicky Smith, 20, is called into the senior squad for the first time and features alongside 12 players who return to International duty after missing the summer tour to South Africa.

Gatland's side take on Australia, Fiji, New Zealand and South Africa on consecutive weekends in November as the countdown begins to next year's Rugby World Cup.

In the front row, James is joined by Gethin Jenkins and former Wales U20 prop Smith, who has started all seven of the Ospreys' encounters this season. Richard Hibbard and Emyr Phillips, who both missed the two-Tests against the Springboks in June return to the squad alongside Scott Baldwin, former Bath player

Aaron Jarvis and Scarlets duo Samson Lee and Rhodri Jones make up the front-row contingent.

Wasps' Bradley Davies returns from injury to be named along with British and Irish Lions duo Alun Wyn Jones and Luke Charteris as well as Scarlets' Jake Ball.
Captain Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric and James King all return from injury and join Dan Lydiate, Taulupe Faletau and Dan Baker in the back row.

Mike Phillips, Rhys Webb and Rhodri Williams are named as the scrum-halves with Dan Biggar and Rhys Priestland as the fly-halves. Five further British and Irish Lions are named in the backs, Jamie Roberts, Jonathan Davies, Alex Cuthbert, George North and Leigh Halfpenny.  They are joined by Scarlets duo Scott and Liam Williams, Cory Allen and Dragons pair Hallam Amos and Tom Prydie.

Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Bath Rugby), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Richard Hibbard (Gloucester Rugby), Emyr Phillips (Scarlets), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Bradley Davies (Wasps), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), Dan Lydiate (Racing Metro), James King (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Dan Baker (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Dragons).

Backs: Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), James Roberts (Racing Metro), Jonathan Davies (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Hallam Amos (Dragons), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Tom Prydie (Dragons), Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon), Liam Williams (Scarlets).
Tickets to see Wales in action at the Millennium Stadium in the 2014 Dove Men Series - against Australia, Fiji, New Zealand and South Africa are available online at

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.