Priestland returns as Bath Rugby host Worcester Warriors

19 March 2021

Director of Rugby Stuart Hooper has made three Bath Rugby changes for the visit of Worcester Warriors in Round 14 of the Gallagher Premiership.

They all come in the backline with Rhys Priestland lining up at fly-half for the Blue, Black and Whites after pulling out of the warm-up in the Round 13 win at Newcastle Falcons.

Rested for the trip to Kingston Park, Will Muir returns to the wing and centre Max Clark comes in at inside centre for his 11th appearance of the campaign.

Tom de Glanville, Ruaridh McConnochie, Jonathan Joseph and Ben Spencer maintain starting roles following the superb bonus-point win last weekend.

All six tries in the North East came via the forwards who were dominant for the entire 80 minutes. Front rowers Tom Dunn and Henry Thomas were both on the scoresheet and retain their spots at hooker and tighthead respectively while Juan Schoeman keeps his place at loosehead prop.

Captain Josh McNally continues his flourishing partnership in the second row with Elliott Stooke. In the back row, Academy graduate Miles Reid and England international Sam Underhill flank Number 8 Zach Mercer.

Homegrown prop Arthur Cordwell is on the bench after making his Premiership debut last time out and is joined by fellow Academy players in Ethan Staddon and Orlando Bailey.

Bath Rugby side to face Worcester Warriors

15. Tom de Glanville, 14. Ruaridh McConnochie, 13. Jonathan Joseph, 12. Max Clark, 11. Will Muir, 10. Rhys Priestland, 9. Ben Spencer; 1 Juan Schoeman, 2. Tom Dunn, 3. Henry Thomas, 4. Josh McNally ©, 5. Elliott Stooke, 6. Miles Reid, 7. Sam Underhill, 8. Zach Mercer


16. Jack Walker, 17. Arthur Cordwell, 18. Christian Judge, 19. Tom Ellis, 20. Ethan Staddon, 21. Will Chudley, 22. Orlando Bailey, 23. Joe Cokanasiga

The visitors

15. Nick David, 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Oli Morris, 12. Will Butler, 11. Perry Humphreys, 10. Fin Smith, 9. Gareth Simpson, 1. Marc Thomas, 2. Isaac Miller, 3. Joe Morris, 4. Andrew Kitchener, 5. Joe Batley, 6. Ted Hill ©, 7. Matt Kvesic, 8. Tom Dodd


16. Niall Annett, 17. Ethan Waller, 18. Maks van Dyk , 19. Justin Clegg, 20. Cornell du Preez, 21. Francois Hougaard, 22. Billy Searle, 23. Francois Venter


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.