Recently selected England eight all start against Northampton Saints

11 June 2021

All eight Bath Rugby players selected by England in midweek will start against Northampton Saints in the final round of the 2020/21 Gallagher Premiership campaign. 

Academy graduates Charlie Ewels and Miles Reid pack down at five and six while another homegrown duo in Max Ojomoh and Tom de Glanville line-up at inside centre and full-back. 

Loosehead Beno Obano returns from suspension and Sam Underhill retains his place on the flank. Joe Cokanasiga earns a spot on the wing and Ben Spencer is at nine. 

The scrum-half is joined at half-back by Welshman Rhys Priestland who will make his 120th and final appearance in Blue, Black and White.

The fly-half has been an instrumental figure during his six years at the club and is one of two starters that will depart this summer. Prop Christian Judge will also bid farewell from the start as he lines up at tighthead. The 28-year-old has made over 40 outings for Bath in his two years at the Rec.

Jacques du Toit, Josh McNally and Taulupe Faletau complete the forwards with Jonathan Joseph and Anthony Watson named in the backline.

On the bench, Zach Mercer will earn his 100th and final Bath cap when he takes to the field.

The Number 8 joined the club in 2016 and has developed into a talented, exciting player who has given a lot to the shirt in five years.

Henry Thomas – another Bath centurion – will also feature for the last time as will Will Chudley. The pair will end their time in Somerset with 118 and 56 matches to their name, respectively.

Bath Rugby team to play Northampton Saints

15. Tom de Glanville, 14. Anthony Watson, 13. Jonathan Joseph, 12. Max Ojomoh, 11. Joe Cokanasiga, 10. Rhys Priestland, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Beno Obano, 2. Jacques du Toit, 3. Christian Judge, 4. Josh McNally, 5. Charlie Ewels ©, 6. Miles Reid, 7. Sam Underhill, 8. Taulupe Faletau


16. Tom Doughty, 17. Juan Schoeman, 18. Henry Thomas, 19. Will Spencer, 20. Zach Mercer, 21. Josh Bayliss, 22. Will Chudley, 23. Orlando Bailey

The Visitors

15. Tommy Freeman, 14. Tom Collins, 13. Fraser Dingwall, 12. Rory Hutchinson, 11. Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10. James Grayson, 9. Alex Mitchell; 1. Nick Auterac, 2. Mike Haywood, 3. Paul Hill, 4. Alex Coles, 5. Alex Moon, 6. Courtney Lawes, 7. Lewis Ludlam ©, 8. Tom Wood


16. James Fish, 17. Alex Waller, 18. Ehren Painter, 19. Api Ratuniyarawa, 20. Ollie Newman, 21. Connor Tupai, 22. Matt Proctor, 23. Josh Gillespie

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.