Seven selected for England Training Camps

20 June 2019

England Rugby head coach Eddie Jones has announced a squad of 29 players to attend training camps at Pennyhill Park next week (23-27 June), including seven of the Blue, Black and White’s.  

Ruaridh McConnochie will receive his first England senior XV’s call-up alongside Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints) and Val Rapava Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby).

Tom Dunn, Charlie Ewels, Sam Underhill, Joe Cokanasiga, Jonathan Joseph and Anthony Watson will also join McConnochie in the squad. 

The week is the first of two training camps, held at Pennyhill Park and the Lensbury (30 June-4 July), before the first official Rugby World Cup training camp begins on 7 July at Lensbury.  

Players attending the camp at Pennyhill Park will not have featured in the Gallagher Premiership semi-finals or final, outside of Ludlam and Rapava Ruskin. Both players and a small number involved in the Quilter Cup match against the Barbarians will be managed to ensure their post-season active rest periods are fulfilled in agreement with Premiership Rugby and the Rugby Players Association. 

Jones said: The first two England training camps are designed to improve individual players’ fundamentals to allow them to compete for a place at the Rugby World Cup squad.” 

England will play Wales (11 August) and Ireland (24 August) at Twickenham Stadium and Italy (6 September) in Newcastle as part of the Quilter Internationals as well as an away fixture against Wales (17 August) in Cardiff.



Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)

Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints)

Val Rapava Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby)

Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors)

Brad Shields (Wasps)

Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)

Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) 


Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)

Elliot Daly (Wasps)

George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby)

Dan Robson (Wasps)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins)

Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)

Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.