Moody, Banahan and Louw in Quarter Final action

6 October 2011

Lewis Moody, Matt Banahan and Francois Louw will all play their part in the Rugby World Cup quarter finals this weekend.

Lewis will lead England out once more for their knock-out game against France on Saturday, kick-off 8.30am UK time, and Matt is named amongst the replacements, as Martin Johnson makes four changes to the side who faced Scotland.

Toby Flood will start at inside centre alongside Jonny Wilkinson at fly half, and is joined in the starting XV by lock Tom Palmer, No 8 Nick Easter and wing Mark Cueto who all come in for Courtney Lawes, James Haskell and Delon Armitage respectively.

Lawes and Haskell drop down to the bench, alongside three other forwards in Dylan Hartley, Alex Corbisiero and Simon Shaw, with Richard Wigglesworth covering the halfback positions and Banahan the rest of the backline.


15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Toby Flood, 11 Mark Cueto, 10 Jonny Wilkinson, 9 Ben Youngs; 1 Matt Stevens, 2 Steve Thompson, 3 Dan Cole, 4 Louis Deacon, 5 Tom Palmer, 6 Tom Croft, 7 Lewis Moody (capt), 8 Nick Easter


16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Alex Corbisiero, 18 Courtney Lawes, 19 Simon Shaw, 20 James Haskell, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Matt Banahan

Francois has been named amongst the Springbok replacements for their quarter final against Australia, which takes place on Sunday morning at 6.00am UK time.  

Captain John Smit and loosehead prop Gurthrö Steenkamp return to the front row, while Jean de Villiers resumes his place in the No 12 jersey in place of Frans Steyn, who suffered a tournament-ending shoulder injury in the 13-5 victory over Samoa.

The XV includes eight players who started in the 2007 Rugby World Cup final as well as three players who were part of the squad. Only Pat Lambie, Morne Steyn and Heinrich Brüssow of the starting team were not involved in 2007, while Pierre Spies was originally selected but had to withdraw due to illness.

Bismarck du Plessis drops to the bench where he is joined by CJ van der Linde, Willem Alberts and Francois Louw, who were all replacement forwards against Samoa.

The versatile Francois Hougaard retains his place among the back replacements where he is joined by fly half Butch James and outside back Gio Aplon. 

South Africa:

15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13  Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez; 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 2 John Smit (captain), 3 Jannie du Plessis, 4 Danie Rossouw, 5 Victor Matfield, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 7 Schalk Burger, 8 Pierre Spies      


16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Butch James, 22 Gio Aplon  



New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.