Mears named on the bench for final test match

21 June 2012

Bath Rugby hooker, Lee Mears has been named on the bench for England as they prepare for the third and final test match against South Africa at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth on Saturday, 4pm kick off BST .  The game is live on Sky Sports 1 and BBC Radio 5 Live.

Saracens full back, Alex Goode, will make his first test start after coming off the bench in the second Test and will start at full back in place of Ben Foden, who takes over from David Strettle on the left wing.

Goode's elevation is one of six personnel changes from the side that started in Johannesburg with Danny Care, Alex Corbisiero and Tom Palmer getting first tour Test starts in place of Ben Youngs, Joe Marler and Mouritz Botha. James Haskell replaces the injured Chris Robshaw, and Thomas Waldrom is in for Ben Morgan at No 8.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "I am really pleased for Alex. He has worked hard in training and has been pushing Mike Brown and Ben Foden close so we are looking forward to him bringing his footballing skills to this Test.

"Danny Care likewise has bided his time in a very competitive position, knuckled down and deserves his chance, as has James Haskell, who has played this season for the Highlanders at No 7. We felt that the pack got some momentum in the second half last week so we have gone for Alex and Tom but I am sure Joe Marler and Mo Botha can make an impact from the bench.

"The guys did the shirt proud in Potchefstroom on Tuesday and I have no doubt that the 22 involved on Saturday will rise to this final challenge as we look to end this almost 12-month season on a high."

England team to face South Africa:

15 Alex Goode (Saracens)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
12 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
11 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2 Dylan Hartley (capt, Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
6 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
7 James Haskell (Otago Highlanders)
8 Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)


16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17 Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints)
18 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
19 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
20 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
21 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
22 Brad Barritt (Saracens)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.