Louw to start for Springboks in Dunedin

12 September 2012

Bath Rugby back row, Francois Louw has been named to start in the Springbok team that will face New Zealand in the fourth Test in The Castle Rugby Championship in Dunedin on Saturday.

Lock Flip van der Merwe replaces the suspended Eben Etzebeth while Louw comes in for Marcell Coetzee on the flanks.

There are four more changes on the bench, where Coetzee joins Dean Greyling, Andries Bekker and Juan de Jongh amongst the replacements.

"The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

"Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option."

Jannie du Plessis has been named at tighthead prop despite struggling with a hamstring niggle. Meyer said the Springboks' medical team is working very hard on the injured players and that Du Plessis will be given until Friday to fully shake off his injury, but if he fails to recover in time, Pat Cilliers will start in the No 3-shirt.

"We will not take any chances with injured players and we have time to get him and Pat (Cilliers) match ready," said Meyer.

Greyling will be on the bench to provide prop cover, while Bekker takes over from Van der Merwe in the No 18 shirt. De Jongh comes in for Lwazi Mvovo on the bench.

The Springboks' starting XV have a combined total of 482 Test caps – 136 in the forwards and 346 in the backline.

Springbok team to face New Zealand in Dunedin:

15 Zane Kirchner Vodacom Blue Bulls
14 Bryan Habana DHL Western Province
13 Jean de Villiers (captain) DHL Western Province
12 Frans Steyn The Sharks
11 Francois Hougaard Vodacom Blue Bulls
10 Morné Steyn Vodacom Blue Bulls
9 Ruan Pienaar Ulster, N-Ireland

8 Duane Vermeulen DHL Western Province
7 Willem Alberts The Sharks
6 Francois Louw Bath Rugby, England
5 Juandré Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls
4 Flip van der Merwe Vodacom Blue Bulls
3 Jannie du Plessis The Sharks
2 Adriaan Strauss (vice-captain) Toyota FS Cheetahs
1 Tendai Mtawarira The Sharks
16 Tiaan Liebenberg DHL Western Province
17 Dean Greyling Vodacom Blue Bulls
18 Andries Bekker DHL Western Province
19 Marcell Coetzee The Sharks
20 Johan Goosen Toyota FS Cheetahs
21 Juan de Jongh DHL Western Province
22 Pat Lambie The Sharks

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.