Louw to face Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld

29 September 2016

Francois Louw will start for the Springboks on Saturday against Australia at Loftus Versfeld in the team’s penultimate Castle Lager Rugby Championship fixture of the year.

Rudy Paige makes his debut at scrumhalf, in one of three changes made to the Springbok line-up that started the match against the All Blacks two weeks ago in Christchurch.

Paige, who has made four Test appearances from the Bok bench, will partner the experienced Morné Steyn in the halfbacks. They take over from Faf de Klerk and Elton Jantjies respectively, both of whom started in the last six Tests of the year.

The only other change to the starting line-up sees Pat Lambie return to the team for the first time since he suffered concussion in the series opener against Ireland in June.

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee said the team is looking forward to the Test at Loftus Versfeld, where the Springboks are unbeaten in five previous Castle Lager Rugby Championship Tests against the Wallabies.

“We had a very good training week so far and there is definitely excitement amongst the players to play in front of our South African supporters again as we continue to build continuity with just the three changes to the starting team and an unchanged pack of forwards,” said Coetzee.

“Australia will be determined to build on their previous two wins and they will pose difficult questions to us with their tactical and technical approach. We have our own goals to achieve within the two remaining matches, starting on Saturday when we play the Wallabies in front of a good crowd at Loftus.”

Springbok team to face the Wallabies

15           Pat Lambie        

14           Bryan Habana

13           Jesse Kriel         

12           Juan de Jongh  

11           Francois Hougaard         

10           Morné Steyn     

9              Rudy Paige        

1              Tendai Mtawarira

2              Adriaan Strauss ( c )

3              Vincent Koch    

4              Eben Etzebeth 

5              Pieter-Steph du Toit

6              Francois Louw  

7              Oupa Mohoje

8              Warren Whiteley            


16           Bongi Mbonambi

17           Steven Kitshoff               

18           Julian Redelinghuys      

19           Lood de Jager   

20           Willem Alberts                

21           Jaco Kriel            

22           Lionel Mapoe   

23           Willie le Roux  

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.