Louw selected for Springbok’s summer Tests

31 May 2016

Bath Rugby flanker Francois Louw has been included in a new-look Springbok squad that includes nine uncapped players for the Castle Lager Incoming Series against Ireland.

The uncapped players who have forced their way into the Springbok squad are Garth April (flyhalf), Ruan Combrinck (wing), Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf), Nic Groom (scrumhalf), Steven Kitshoff (prop), Jaco Kriel (flank), Bongi Mbonambi (hooker), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (flank) and Scarra Ntubeni (hooker).

Allister Coetzee said he was excited and looking forward to start working with his squad.

“The announcement of the squad, while hugely challenging, is a highlight of my career and a result of a lot of hard work and a huge amount of planning since my appointment,” said Coetzee.

“The selection of this squad was based on rewarding form and exposing young and upcoming local players to the Springboks, which is why priority was given to locally based players. We have many experienced players still available for selection, but we just felt that the time was right to look at the next generation.

“Our depth was obviously tested in certain positions, but this also created opportunities for new players, who have found their feet at Vodacom Super Rugby level, and to make the step up to the Springboks.

“I was appointed to win Test matches and I believe we have picked the best possible, available squad to do that. During my recent visits to the various franchises, I witnessed an unbelievable desire and passion from our players to play for South Africa, which was really heartening.

“We will now start with our preparations in earnest in Stellenbosch so that we can be ready for Ireland in Cape Town in two weeks’ time.”

The three Tests between the Springboks and Ireland will take place on 11th June at DHL Newlands in Cape Town, on 18th June at Emirates Airline Park in Johannesburg and on 25th June at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth.

Springbok squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series

Garth April    

Ruan Combrinck       

Damian de Allende              

Lood de Jager

Faf de Klerk   

Pieter-Steph du Toit 

Eben Etzebeth         

Nic Groom     

Elton Jantjies 

Steven Kitshoff       

Siya Kolisi     

Jaco Kriel      

Jesse Kriel     

Patrick Lambie         

Willie le Roux 

Francois Louw

Frans Malherbe        

Lionel Mapoe 

Bongi Mbonambi       

Tendai Mtawarira     

Lwazi Mvovo 

Sikhumbuzo Notshe  

Scarra Ntubeni        

Trevor Nyakane       

Rudy Paige    

JP Pietersen  

Julian Redelinghuys   

Jan Serfontein         

Adriaan Strauss       

Duane Vermeulen     

Warren Whiteley      

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.