Louw returns to face Samoa

19 June 2013

Francois Louw returns to the Springboks starting line-up when they take on Samoa in the final match of the Castle Lager Incoming Series at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday.

Louw was given last weekend off to get married, and is one of three changes to the side that beat Scotland.

The injured Arno Botha is replaced on the flank by Willem Alberts, who has been struggling with a side strain.

Alberts, who has been training with the team this week, will have to pass a fitness test on Friday to prove that he has recovered fully from his injury. If he is not passed fit to play Samoa, Siya Kolisi will start in his place and Marcell Coetzee will be included on the bench.

The third and final change to the starting line-up is at lock, where the giant Flip van der Merwe comes in for Juandré Kruger.

"Francois was always going to be back this week and Willem has been our first-choice ball carrier, so it's been good to have them back on the training field," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

"I'm happy that we've been able to keep some form of continuity during these Tests, especially in the backline, where a number of exciting new players have come in and put up their hands during Vodacom Super Rugby and in the last two weeks."

Meyer said the match against Samoa will be a proper test for his squad:

"They have a strong squad and have benefited from having their best players compete in Vodacom Super Rugby and at the top club level in Europe, but our focus is on putting in an improved performance from last week," said Meyer.

Springbok team to face Samoa

15      Willie le Roux 

14      Bryan Habana

13      JJ Engelbrecht         

12      Jean de Villiers (captain) / Jan Serfontein  

11      Bjorn Basson 

10      Morné Steyn 

9        Ruan Pienaar 

8        Pierre Spies   

7        Willem Alberts / Siya Kolisi   

6        Francois Louw

5        Flip van der Merwe   

4        Eben Etzebeth         

3        Jannie du Plessis      

2        Adriaan Strauss       

1        Tendai Mtawarira     


16      Bismarck du Plessis   

17      Trevor Nyakane       

18      Coenie Oosthuizen   

19      Juandré Kruger        

20      Siya Kolisi / Marcell Coetzee          

21      Piet van Zyl  

22      Pat Lambie    

23      Jan Serfontein

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.