Louw named in Springboks squad to face Argentina

8 August 2019

Bath Rugby's Francois Louw has been named among the replacements, as South Africa bid to win the Rugby Championship for the first time since 2009. 

The Springboks face Argentina in Salta on Saturday and will secure top spot if they beat the Pumas with a bonus-point. 

Tendai Mtawarira (loosehead prop), Bongi Mbonambi (hooker) and Trevor Nyakane (tighthead prop) will pack down in the Springbok front row and are the only changes to the starting fifteen from the one that held holders New Zealand to a thrilling 16-16 draw in Wellington. Duane Vermeulen will again lead the Springboks as captain for this decisive clash in high altitude.

Mtawarira, the most experienced Springbok prop in history, and Nyakane replace Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe, while Mbonambi takes over the hooker duties from Malcolm Marx.

All three front rankers who started the Test at the Westpac Stadium in the New Zealand capital are due to make an impact off the bench against the Pumas on Saturday.

The “Beast”, who is set to make his 110th appearance in the Green and Gold jersey, will join Rugby World Cup winner Bryan Habana on 53 appearances in the Rugby Championship to equal the Springbok record for number of caps in the Southern Hemisphere competition.

The South Africa team to face Argentina (in order of name, franchise or club, caps and points):

15. Willie le Roux (Wasps, England), 54 caps, 60 points (12 tries)

14. Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse, France), 8, 10 (2t)

13. Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks), 7, 5 (1t)

12. Damian de Allende (DHL Stormers), 38, 20 (4t)

11. Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks), 6, 20 (4t)

10. Handré Pollard (Vodacom Bulls), 40, 350 (4t, 60c, 67p, 3d)

9. Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, England), 22, 15 (3t)

8. Duane Vermeulen (captain, Vodacom Bulls), 47, 15 (3t)

7. Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers), 48, 20 (4t)

6. Kwagga Smith (Emirates Lions), 2, 0

5. Franco Mostert (Gloucester Rugby, England), 30, 5 (1t)

4. Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), 77, 15 (3t)

3. Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls), 39, 5 (1t)

2. Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers), 28, 15 (3t)

1. Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), 109, 10 (2t)


16. Malcolm Marx (Emirates Lions), 25, 20 (4t)

17. Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers), 38, 5 (1t)

18. Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), 30, 0

19. RG Snyman (Vodacom Bulls), 13, 0

20. Francois Louw (Bath Rugby, England), 67, 45 (9t)

21. Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers), 2, 15 (3t)

22. Frans Steyn (Montpellier, France), 58, 132 (10t, 5c, 21p, 3d)

23. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls), 42, 60 (12t)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.