Louw named in South Africa team to face Wales

23 November 2018

The Test at the Principality Stadium, the fourth of the Springboks’ tour to the northern hemisphere, kicks off at 17:20. 

Duane Vermeulen, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Siya Kolisi will yet again form the loose trio, Franco Mostert and RG Snyman the lock combination while Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx and Steven Kitshoff will pack down in the front row.

Jesse Kriel will play in his 40th Test match for the Springboks and he lines up next to Damian de Allende in the midfield. Handré Pollard and Embrose Papier are the halfbacks and the back three consists of Willie le Roux and speedsters Sbu Nkosi and Aphiwe Dyantyi.

Following an agonising one-point loss to England at Twickenham at the start of the tour, the Springboks have subsequently gained hard-fought victories over France in Paris and Scotland.

Success over Wales at the Principality Stadium will mean the South Africans can finish the traditional end of year tour with three wins from four.

South Africa team to face Wales

15. Willie le Roux

14. Sbu Nkosi

13. Jesse Kriel

12. Damian de Allende

11. Aphiwe Dyantyi

10. Handré Pollard

9. Embrose Papier 

8 Duane Vermeulen

7. Pieter-Steph du Toit

6. Siya Kolisi (c)

5. Franco Mostert

4. RG Snyman

3. Frans Malherbe

2. Malcolm Marx

1. Steven Kitshoff


16. Bongi Mbonambi 

17. Thomas du Toit

18. Vincent Koch 

19. Eben Etzebeth 

20. Francois Louw

21. Ivan van Zyl 

22. Elton Jantjies 

23. Cheslin Kolbe 

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.