Lee Mears on the bench for second test against South Africa

14 June 2012

Bath Rugby hooker, Lee Mears has been named on the bench ahead of England's second test against South Africa at Coca Cola Park, Johannesburg on Saturday.

Jonathan Joseph will start his first England international, coming in at outside centre in place of Manusamoa Tuilagi, who switches inside for Brad Barritt in a side showing five changes - two positional - from the one that started the 1st Test.

Toby Flood replaces Owen Farrell at fly half, Ben Foden moves to full back for the injured Mike Brown and David Strettle comes on to the left wing.

The pack remains the same while there are changes on the replacements' bench, where Alex Corbisiero gets his first chance in the Castle series, in place of Paul Doran Jones, while Alex Goode takes over from Toby Flood.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "I am delighted for JJ. He has trained very well and showed against the Barbarians and in his short time on the field in the 1st Test that he is ready to make the step to international rugby. To have two 21-year-old centres is exciting and we are looking forward to seeing this combination in action.

"Owen has had a fantastic season and I am sure he will make a significant impact from the bench. However, Toby has waited patiently for his opportunity and the time is right to allow him the chance to demonstrate his experience and skills in what will be a very tough challenge.

"It's a shame for Mike Brown who worked hard to get that Test start but Ben Foden naturally reverts to full back and we return to the wing partnership of David Strettle and Chris Ashton that serves us well in the RBS 6 Nations."

England (v South Africa, Coca Cola Park, 1600 BST, live on Sky Sports HD and BBC Radio 5 Live)

15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
12 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
11 David Strettle (Saracens)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
6 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins)
8 Ben Morgan (Scarlets)


16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
18 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
19 Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
20 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
21 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
22 Alex Goode (Saracens)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.