Joseph, Underhill and Watson all start for England

16 November 2017

Bath Rugby's Jonathan Joseph, Sam Underhill and Anthony Watson will start for England against Australia on Saturday at Twickenham, kick-off 15:00. 

The trio, who were all involved in last week's 21-8 victory against Argentina remain in the starting line-up, with Semesa Rokoduguni named amongst the replacements. 

Joseph and Underhill continue at outside centre and openside flanker respectively, whilst Watson switches from wing to fullback.  

Owen Farrell (Saracens) makes a return to the team for the first time this season in place of Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) at inside centre. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers) has been passed fit and will play on the right wing.
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) moves to fullback after Mike Brown (Harlequins) was not considered for selection following his head injury last weekend. 
The only change in the forward pack sees Joe Launchbury (Wasps) replace George Kruis (Saracens).  The Wasps lock will partner Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) who is set to win his 60th cap for England.
Maro Itoje (Saracens) is also called up in the matchday squad and is named as one of the finishers.
Eddie Jones said: “I have selected the strongest 23 to play Australia and we will have to be effective in everything we do this weekend to win. This is going to be a great challenge, as we know Australia have been in great form towards the end of their season.
“The players have had an extremely positive week. They have trained well and worked hard and we are all excited about going out on Saturday and playing well against a very good Australian side.” 
England team to play Australia

15 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 27 caps)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 27 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 34 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 52 caps)
11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 14 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 38 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 71 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 43 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 87 caps) captain
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 75 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 45 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 59 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 57 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 2 caps)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 11 caps)

16 Jamie George (Saracens 18 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 51 caps)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 3 caps)
19 Maro Itoje (Saracens 12 caps)
20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 1 cap)
21 Danny Care (Harlequins 74 caps)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 8 caps)
23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 3 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.