Four Bath Rugby players named in England training squad ahead of tour to South Africa.

10 May 2018

Bath Rugby's Beno Obano, Tom Ellis, Elliott Stooke and Zach Mercer have been named in the England training squad as preparations begin ahead of the tour to South Africa next month. 

The 31-man squad will travel to Brighton next week for a training camp. Following the conclusion of the Premiership semi finals next weekend, a final training squad will be confirmed to prepare for the Quilter Cup match against Barbarians on Sunday 27th May at Twickenham Stadium (KO 3pm).

Head Coach Eddie Jones has also announced his squad for the tour, which includes seven new players: Ben Earl (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Brad Shields (Hurricanes/Wasps), Ben Spencer (Saracens), Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) and Jack Willis (Wasps).

Danny Cipriani (Wasps) makes a return to the England setup having last played for his country in 2015. Billy Vunipola (Saracens) is recalled after recovering from injury having last played for England in the 2017 Six Nations. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) - a year after last featuring for England in the two Test series in Argentina - is also included.

In the absence of Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) due to concussion, Owen Farrell (Saracens) will be captain for the tour.

Danny Care (Harlequins), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (Wasps) and Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens) have been rested for the tour.

England has only won 23 percent of their matches against the Springboks in South Africa with the last win coming in Bloemfontein back in 2000.

Jones said: “Our tour to South Africa will be the most exciting challenge for us as a group since 2016. We have an opportunity to create some history next month and win the Test series, something no England side has done before.

“There are a number of players out injured or not selected so it provides a big opportunity for others.

“With three weeks to prepare for the first Test in Johannesburg I am expecting players to come into camp with the right mind-set and we will be looking for them to break the mould in terms of being more assertive and on the front foot in everything we do.

“We will need to be physically aggressive and tactically smart against the Springboks who we know will be combative and reinvigorated by their new coaching setup.”

England will play South Africa in three Tests in Johannesburg (9 June), Bloemfontein (16 June) and Cape Town (23 June). All matches kick off at 1705 local time (1605 BST).

Scott Wisemantel will join Jones’ coaching staff for the tour to South Africa as an attack consultant. The 48-year-old Australian was recently backs coach for Top 14 club Montpellier working with Jake White. 

Tickets for the Quilter Cup start at £25 for adults, £10 for children and are available at

England squad for South Africa Tour


Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Elliot Daly (Wasps)

Nathan Earle (Saracens) *

Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

Danny Cipriani (Wasps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

Alex Lozowski (Saracens)

Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) *

Dan Robson (Wasps) *

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Ben Spencer (Saracens) *

Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)

Ben Earl (Saracens) *

Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs) *

Nick Isiekwe (Saracens)

Maro Itoje (Saracens) 

Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Brad Shields (Hurricanes/Wasps) *

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Jack Willis (Wasps) *

Mark Wilson (Newcastle)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)

Jamie George (Saracens)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)

England training squad, Brighton (week commencing 14 May)


Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish) *

Ben Loader (London Irish)*

Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)

Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

Jason Woodward (Gloucester Rugby)*

George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)

Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors) *

Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) *

Marcus Smith (Harlequins) *

Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)

Ben Vellacot (Gloucester Rugby) *

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks) *

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)

Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby) *

Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)

Josh McNally (London Irish)*

Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) *

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Jono Ross (Sale Sharks)*

Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby) *

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)

Paul Hill (Northampton Saints)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers)*

Beno Obano (Bath Rugby) *

Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors) *

Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)

Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors) *

Uncapped *   

Not considered for selection

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)      

Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints)  

Joe Marchant (Harlequins)       

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)    

Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)    

Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) 

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)


Jack Clifford (Harlequins)   

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)  

James Haskell (Wasps)

Nathan Hughes (Wasps)

George Kruis (Saracens)     

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Will Spencer (Worcester Warriors)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.