Ford, Joseph and Ewels named in England side to take on Australia

1 December 2016

George Ford, Jonathan Joseph and Charlie Ewels have all been named in the matchday 23 for England’s final match of the Old Mutual Wealth Series at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, kick-off 14:30.

Ford and Joseph both start, at fly-half and outside centre, with Ewels named on the bench. 

“We’ve had a great week’s preparation and we can’t wait to get to Twickenham on Saturday with the crowd right behind us,” said head coach Eddie Jones.    

“The great thing about our team is that no-one is irreplaceable. We’ve had seven influential players missing throughout the autumn but we’ve been able to we’d fill that gap and that’s the sort of team we are developing.

“Most big Test matches come down to the last 20 minutes and if you look back historically at big Test matches between England and Australia at Twickenham the last 20 minutes has always been a time where either team can win the game and the team that is the most composed, makes good decisions and physically pushes themselves is the team that is going to win the game.

“We want to make the game into a physical contest but we also need to be flexible and adaptable like we were against Argentina and if do that we’ll put ourselves in a good position to win the game.

“We’ve played three Test matches on the trot which is important because it replicates a World Cup pool. You get through the pool you then need to win every game to win the World Cup. We’ve won three from three so it’s a great dress rehearsal for the World Cup. We need to win this game to progress to the next stage. You can’t just win three games to go through, Japan showed that, so we’ve got to get in that practice of winning four games on the trot against quality opposition.”

*Update: Dave Attwood and Semesa Rokoduguni have been released back to Bath Rugby following this morning's training session with England.

England matchday 23 for the Old Mutual Wealth Series game against Australia

15. Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 54 caps)

14. Marland Yarde (Harlequins 10 caps)

13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 28 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 46 caps)

11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 21 caps)

10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 29 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 64 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 38 caps)

2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 78 caps)

3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 68 caps)

4. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 52 caps)

5. George Kruis (Saracens, 19 caps)

6. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 54 caps)

7. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 44 caps)

8. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 2 caps)


16. Jamie George (Saracens, 11 caps)

17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 45 caps)

18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 3 caps)

19. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)

20. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)

21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 65 caps)

22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps)

23. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.