Ford and Watson nominated for RPA Award

19 May 2014

George Ford and Anthony Watson have been nominated by their fellow Aviva Premiership players for the Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year Award (Ford) and LV= Young Player of the Year Award (Ford and Watson), which will be presented at the RPA Computacenter Players' Awards 2014, held at Battersea Evolution on Wednesday 21st May.

The six nominees for the Player of the Year award alongside Ford include Harlequins’ Mike Brown and Danny Care, Bath Rugby’s George Ford, Leicester Tigers’ Vereniki Goneva, Northampton Saints’ Samu Manoa and Worcester Warriors’ Chris Pennell.

Hearing about his nominations, George said: "I'm really happy to be nominated for these awards, especially considering the quality of other players nominated and the fact they are voted for by other players. Obviously rugby is a team sport and so I would like to thank all of my teammates and the backroom staff at Bath Rugby for making this season a very enjoyable one. It's the business end of the season now, we would love to end it with winning some silverware and we will be doing all we can to achieve that."

Along with the two Bath Rugby backs, Billy Vunipola, Jack Nowell, Joe Launchbury and Owen Williams are also nominated for Young Player of the Year after impressive seasons.

Anthony added: "It's a massive honour to be recognised this year, there's a lot of other great talent in this pool. For me though I think this is down to an awesome effort by the squad as a whole, the forwards have been outstanding this year and allowed the likes of George and myself to express ourselves in the back line. Here at Bath, I feel like we are in the best environment, with a great set-up that can only help us develop as players. That's what driven me this year - to have these coaches who are working so hard to make better players and better people. With such a blend of experience and youth here, it really is fantastic."

The Computacenter Players' Player of the Year Award 2014 nominees are:

Mike Brown – Harlequins
Danny Care – Harlequins
George Ford – Bath Rugby
Vereniki Goneva – Leicester Tigers
Samu Manoa – Northampton Saint
Chris Pennell – Worcester Warriors

The nominees for the LV= Young Player of the Year Award 2014 are:

George Ford – Bath Rugby
Joe Launchbury – London Wasps
Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs
Billy Vunipola – Saracens
Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby
Owen Williams – Leicester Tigers

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.