Five Bath Rugby Academy selected for England U16s

11 April 2012

Five members of the Bath Rugby Academy have been selected for the England U16s side who face Wales 16s at Wellington College in Berkshire this afternoon.

Winger Richard Galloway (Bournemouth GS, Bournemouth and Dorset & Wilts) will start on the right wing with Harry Lightfoot-Brown, who started in that position in Saturday's win over Italy Under 17s in Parma, switching to full-back. Lightfoot-Brown displaces Tristan Rawcliffe who will be among the replacements against Wales.

Centre Max Clark, fly-half Rory Jennings and lock James Catlin are also named in the starting line-up, with Will Homer among the replacements.

The Wales international will be England's second and last of the season at this age group and lead coach Phil Stanlake believes that the first 25 minutes will be crucial in determining the result.

"Traditionally this has always been a very tough game," Stanlake said. "Wales usually play with a lot of flair and mirror what we have seen at senior level in the RBS 6 Nations.

"It's likely to be fierce in the breakdown area and Wales will base their game around a solid set piece.

"The first 25 minutes will be absolutely crucial. It's about maintaining our composure and discipline and building ourselves into the game.

"But this is a very good group. We have worked hard over the last couple of days since we returned from Italy and we have adjusted a couple of things."

England Under 16s squad to face Wales Under 16s

15 Harry Lightfoot-Brown (Claremont Fancourt School, Teddington and Middlesex)

14 Richard Galloway (Bournemouth GS, Bournemouth and Dorset & Wilts)

13 Max Clark (Bryanston School, North Dorset and Dorset & Wilts)

12 Brett Herron (Wellington College, London Irish Academy and Berkshire)

11 Austin Beckett (St Joseph's College, Sudbury and Eastern Counties)

10 Rory Jennings (Bryanston School, Salisbury and Dorset & Wilts)

9 Stuart Townsend (Ivybridge Community College, Kingsbridge and Devon)

1 Lewis Boyce (MacMillan Academy, Middlesbrough and Yorkshire)

2 Jack Walker (Settle College, North Ribblesdale and Yorkshire - captain)

3 Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Whitgift School, Sutton & Epsom and Surrey)

4 Guy Borrowdale (Tapton School, Sheffield Tigers and Yorkshire)

5 James Catlin (St Gregory's School Bath, Corsham and Dorset & Wilts)

6 Charles Beckett (Merchant Taylors' Crosby, Waterloo and Lancashire)

7 Sam Underhill (Sir Thomas Rich's School, Longlevens and Gloucestershire)

8 Henry Cheeseman (Whitgift School, Chipstead and Surrey)

Replacements: James Thacker (Bishop's Stortford College, Bishop's Stortford and Hertfordshire). Replacements: Matthew Radley (Arnold School, Fylde and Lancashire), James Thacker (Bishop's Stortford College, Bishop's Stortford and Hertfordshire), Jacob Conner (Northampton School for Boys, Old Northamptonians and East Midlands), Will Goodrick-Clarke (Chipping Campden HS, Stow on the Wold and Gloucestershire), Jay Tyack (Penair School, Truro and Cornwall), Tristan Rawcliffe (Culford School, Colchester and Eastern Counties), Will Homer (Sherborne School and Dorset & Wiltshire).


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.