Fearns and Mears selected for England

10 May 2012

Congratulations to Bath Rugby's Carl Fearns and Lee Mears who have both been named in England's 42-man squad to tour South Africa next month.

Drawn mostly from the Senior and Saxons Elite Player Squads, nine Aviva Premiership clubs are represented for the three-Test series, with the party captained by Player of the Season, Harlequins' Chris Robshaw.

Twenty-nine of the squad have been capped at full international level, a further eight have played for the Saxons, while there are four members of last season's Under 20 IRB Junior World Championship squad – Saracens' Owen Farrell (Land Rover Discovery of the Season), London Wasps Christian Wade, the second highest try scorer in the Aviva Premiership (nine), London Irish back Jonathan Joseph and London Wasps lock Joe Launchbury.

Lancaster said: "Myself and Graham [Rowntree] rang the players yesterday and there is a real excitement about this squad.  We have a massive challenge ahead of us but it is one that everybody involved, players, coaches and management is looking forward to.

"While certain players are not available because of inevitable injuries at this time of the season, we have been able to select the bulk of the squad from the RBS 6 Nations and the Saxons, while also taking with us four of the Under 20 team which reached last June's Junior World Championship final and we see the return of two experienced internationals in Danny Care and James Haskell."

"We will obviously bring some additional players in for the Barbarians game which is another opportunity to look at a wider group who are pushing for selection. It will be great to be back in front of the Twickenham crowd who were so supportive during the Six Nations."

Amongst the players not considered due to injury were Bath's David Wilson and Stuart Hooper, as well as new signing Rob Webber.

England squad for South Africa

Forwards (23)

Mouritz  Botha  (Saracens)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)

Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints)

Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)

Carl Fearns (Bath Rugby)            

Joe Gray (Harlequins) 

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

James Haskell (Otago Highlanders)

Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)

Graham  Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)

Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)

Ben Morgan (Scarlets)

Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors)

Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)

Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)

Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins)

George Robson (Harlequins) 

Matt Stevens  (Saracens)

Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)      

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)                

Backs (19)

Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)

Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)

Brad Barritt (Saracens)  

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Danny Care (Harlequins)               

Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)

Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)

Alex Goode (Saracens)           

Charlie  Hodgson (Saracens)       

Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)            

George Lowe (Harlequins)

Ugo Monye (Harlequins)

David Strettle (Saracens)

Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)  

Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)

Christian Wade (London Wasps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.