Ewels to make 100th appearance in London Irish encounter

14 August 2020

Bath Rugby captain Charlie Ewels will make his 100th appearance for the Club on Saturday as the Blue, Black and White face-up against London Irish in Round 14 of the Gallagher Premiership (kick-off 15:00, BT Sport Extra 1). 

Bath Rugby will resume the 2019/20 campaign after a five-month hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Stuart Hooper’s men will be looking to return to winning ways after suffering defeat to Exeter Chiefs last time out at Sandy Park, back in March.

Ewels is looking forward to leading out his team for what will be a significant match. The Club captain said: “It’s a real privilege to be running out at the Rec for my 100th Bath appearance. The whole squad is raring to go and looking forward to hosting London Irish to get the season back underway. We’re focused on putting in a great performance." 

Lewis Boyce, Tom Dunn and Will Stuart make up the front row with Ewels and Josh McNally pairing at lock.

Zach Mercer and Sam Underhill join forces at blindside and openside respectively with Taulupe Faletau starting at No. 8.

Bath Rugby introduce Ben Spencer to the starting line-up for the first time as the scrum-half makes his debut for the Blue, Black and White. The England international will link up with Rhys Priestland, who has a total of 111 points for Bath going into the final nine fixtures. 

Ruaridh McConnochie and Semesa Rokoduguni start on the wide channels with Josh Matavesi and Jonathan Joseph looking to supply them with quick ball from the midfield and England international Anthony Watson completes the starting 15 at full-back against his former side. 

Cameron Redpath is named on the bench and will make his Bath Rugby debut if he features.

Bath Rugby side to face London Irish

15. Anthony Watson, 14. Semesa Rokoduguni, 13. Jonathan Joseph, 12. Josh Matavesi, 11. Ruaridh McConnochie, 10. Rhys Priestland, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Lewis Boyce, 2. Tom Dunn, 3. Will Stuart, 4. Josh McNally, 5. Charlie Ewels (C), 6. Zach Mercer, 7. Sam Underhill, 8. Taulupe Faletau.


16. Jack Walker, 17. Beno Obano, 18. Christian Judge, 19. Elliott Stooke, 20. Josh Bayliss, 21. Will Chudley, 22. Cameron Redpath, 23. Tom de Glanville

London Irish

15. Tom Parton, 14. Ben Loader, 13. Curtis Rona, 12. Terrence Hepetema, 11. Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10. Paddy Jackson, 9. Nick Phipps, 1. Harry Elrington, 2. Motu Matu’u, 3. Sekope Kepu, 4. Ben Donnell, 5. George Nott, 6. Matt Rogerson, 7. Seán O’Brien ©, 8. Albert Tuisue


16. Matt Cornish, 17. Will Goodrick-Clarke, 18. Ollie Hoskins, 19. Sebastian de Chaves, 20. Blair Cowan, 21. Ben Meehan, 22. Theo Brophy Clews, 23. Matt Williams

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.