Cokanasiga, Joseph and McConnochie start for England

24 September 2019

Joe Cokanasiga, Jonathan Joseph and Ruaridh McConnochie will all start for England in their second pool stage game against USA on Thursday (11:45 BST), with Anthony Watson named as a replacement. 

Cokanasiga and McConnochie will make their first appearances in Japan on the right and left wing respectively. Joseph, who was the architect of England's bonus-point try on Saturday against Tonga comes into the starting line-up at outside centre. 

George Ford has been named as captain, with Willi Heinz completing the half-back pairing. 

Dan Cole, Luke Cowan Dickie and Joe Marler are named in the front row while Joe Launchbury and George Kruis will play in the second row.

Dan Cole will play his 91st Test for England becoming the third most capped England men’s player alongside Jonny Wilkinson. Youngs, who is named as a finisher, will join Cole and Wilkinson if he features during the game.

Tom Curry and Billy Vunipola retain their place in the back row with Lewis Ludlam starting at openside flanker.

Piers Francis and Joseph selected in the centres, with Elliot Daly continuing at full-back.

Jones said: “The four-day turnaround is something we experimented with against Japan last autumn and so the players have had some experience of it. You have to make sure the two days before the game are exactly the same as you would normally have for any other game. So for us, a short and fast run tomorrow and today is an active recovery day. What I see now is players handling it really well but the game on Thursday will be the litmus test.”

On the team selected for the match Jones said: “It is our best 23 and we have looked at some players that would benefit not playing in this game so have kept them out of the 23. But it is a great opportunity for another set of players to do the team proud.”

England team to face USA 

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 34 caps)
14. Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 43 caps)
12. Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 8 caps)
11. Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 8 caps)
10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 60 caps) C
9. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 5 caps)
1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 63 caps)
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 16 caps)
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 90 caps)
4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 61 caps)
5. George Kruis (Saracens, 36 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 14 caps)
7. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 46 caps)


16. Jack Singleton (Saracens, 2 cap)
17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 13 caps)
18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 26 caps)
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 76 caps)
20. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons/ Sale Sharks, 15 caps)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 90 caps)
22. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 74 caps)
23. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 37 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.