Bath United confirm team for A league opener

1 September 2017

Bath United has confirmed their team for the first game of the Premiership Rugby A League season against Saracens Storm tonight at the Recreation Ground, kick-off 17:30.

Darren Atkins starts at fullback, with Levi Davis and Harry Davies on the right and left wing respectively.

Craig Duncan and Rory Jennings form the centre partnership for the first game at the Rec of the 2017/18 season. Summer arrival Josh Lewis starts in the number 10 shirt, with Will Flinn completing the half-back pairing.

Michael van Vuuren marks his return from injury to start at hooker and will be supported in the front row by Academy prospects Will Vaughan and Sam Nixon.

Will Britton lines up alongside Scott Russell in the second row, with Jack Davis starting at blindside flanker. Josh Bayliss and Zach Mercer, who reached the World Rugby U20 Championship Final with England over the summer, complete an exciting back row.  

There will also be a suggested donation of £2 on the game for each of Bath United’s Premiership Rugby A League fixtures. All the funds from these donations will go towards Bath Rugby Foundation. 

Bath United team to face Saracens Storm

15. Darren Atkins

14. Levi Davis

13. Craig Duncan 

12. Rory Jennings

11. Harry Davies

10. Josh Lewis

9. Will Flinn

1. Will Vaughan

2. Michael van Vuuren

3. Sam Nixon

4. Will Britton

5. Scott Russell

6. Jack Davis

7. Josh Bayliss

8. Zach Mercer


16. Nathan Charles

17. Arthur Cordwell

18. Bradley Packham

19. Chris Barry

20. Ollie Fox

21. Robbie de Bruyn

22. Wil Partington

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.