Bath trio aim for clean sweep against Wallabies

23 June 2016

George Ford, Jonathan Joseph and Anthony Watson will start in their third Test match of the series against Australia in Sydney on Saturday 25 June (kick-off 11am BST, live on Sky Sports 1).

England are determined to complete a clean sweep in the three-match series having already won the previous two Tests in Brisbane and Melbourne to retain the Cook Cup. 

Northampton's Teimana Harrison comes into an otherwise unchanged 15 in place of James Haskell (Wasps) who has not recovered from a foot injury in time for the final Test at Allianz Park. 

Head coach Eddie Jones said: “We’ve treated this week like a dress rehearsal for the World Cup because that what we’re always building towards. To win a World Cup you have to win three big games in a row – we’ve won two so this third game is the most important game we’ll play all year. It will be a good indication of where we are as a team.

“The players have enjoyed being in Coogee this week and the attitude to training has been absolutely first class. They have been inspired by the challenge of playing better for the last game. Credit has to go to the coaching staff, particularly Steve Borthwick, Paul Gustard, Neal Hatley and Glen Ella who have worked tirelessly to keep improving this squad of players. 

“We’re looking forward to playing in front of a full house at Allianz Stadium on Saturday and we are confident we can finish the job off with a win.” 

England match-day 23 to face Australia at Allianz Stadium

15. Mike Brown (Harlequins, 51 caps) 

14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 23 caps)

13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 24 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 43 caps)

11. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps)

10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 25 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 60 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 34 caps) 

2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 74 caps)

3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 64 caps)

4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 6 caps)

5. George Kruis (Saracens, 17 caps)

6. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 50 caps)

7. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)

8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 28 caps)


16. Jamie George (Saracens, 7 caps)

17. Matt Mullan (Wasps 12 caps)

18. Paul Hill (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)

19. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 34 caps)

20. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 48 caps)

21. Jack Clifford (Harlequins, 7 caps)

22. Danny Care (Harlequins, 61 caps)

23. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 4 caps) 

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.