Hooper makes just two changes to starting line-up for West Country derby

18 February 2021

Josh Bayliss moves to the second row for Josh McNally, who is unavailable for selection, and Taulupe Faletau returns to the Club from international duty with Wales to start at blind-side. 

The front row remains unchanged from last Friday’s dominant display against Sale Sharks, with hooker Tom Dunn – who made a massive 34 tackles – looking to put in another impressive performance. 

Mike Williams, Miles Reid, and Zach Mercer resume their positions in the second row, open-side and no.8 respectively to complete the pack.

Will Muir returns on the left-wing, with Semesa Rokodoguni and Tom de Glanville keeping their positions to make up the back three.

Josh Matavesi and Max Clark pair up again in the centre, while Ben Spencer and Rhys Priestland will marshall the game from their customary spots.  

Director of Rugby Stuart Hooper said: “We have had good selection conversations this week and every player has earned their right to be in the starting 15.

“We have a squad with real strength in depth and our pack will again be a strong weapon on the pitch, with Taulupe coming in during the Six Nations fallow week.”

“Josh McNally picked up a minor leg injury during training and is unavailable this weekend.”

Tom Ellis and Jonathan Joseph return to the squad on the bench alongside Jack Walker, Jamie Bhatti, Henry Thomas, Ethan Staddon, Will Chudley and Tian Schoeman.

Bath Rugby v Gloucester Rugby Live Match Centre

Bath Rugby side to face GLOUCESTER RUGBY

15. Tom de Glanville14. Semesa Rokoduguni, 13. Max Clark, 12. Josh Matavesi, 11. Will Muir, 10. Rhys Priestland, 9. Ben Spencer (c), 1. Juan Schoeman, 2. Tom Dunn, 3. Christian Judge, 4. Josh Bayliss5. Mike Williams6. Taulupe Faletau, 7. Miles Reid, 8. Zach Mercer 


16. Jack Walker, 17. Jamie Bhatti, 18. Henry Thomas, 19. Tom Ellis, 20. Ethan Staddon, 21. Will Chudley, 22. Tian Schoeman, 23. Jonathan Joseph

GLOUCESTER RUGBY side to face bath rugby

15. Jason Woodward, 14. Louis Rees-Zammit, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Tom Seabrook, 11. Ollie Thorley, 10. Billy Twelvetrees, 9. Willi Heinz, 1. Val Rapava-Ruskin, 2. Henry Walker, 3. Fraser Balmain, 4. Ed Slater, 5. Alex Craig, 6. Jordy Reid, 7. Lewis Ludlow (c), 8. Ruan Ackermann


16. Santiago Socino, 17. Alex Seville, 18. Jamal Ford-Robinson, 19. Ollie Atkins, 20. Freddie Clarke, 21. Stephen Varney, 22. George Barton, 23. Henry Trinder


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.