Bath Rugby trio named in England squad for World Cup semi-final

24 October 2019

Bath Rugby's Anthony Watson and Sam Underhill have been named in the England starting XV to face New Zealand in the Rugby World Cup 2019 semi-final at Yokohama Stadium, with Jonathan Joseph named as a replacement (kick-off 09:00 - live on ITV).

Captain Owen Farrell is named at inside centre alongside Manu Tuilagi, with George Ford returning at fly-half.

Billy Vunipola will play in his 50th Test match for England and in an unchanged back row with Underhill and Tom Curry on the flanks.

Jonny May will start on the left wing with Watson on the right and Elliot Daly at fullback.

Maro Itoje and Courtney Lawes start in the second row while Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler make up the front row.

Jones said: “Preparation has been good this week after a solid win against Australia. When you get to this stage of the World Cup it is all about focusing on being in the moment and getting yourself physically right.

“The squad has approached the game well with real maturity. It has helped having players here who have been on the Lions tour and played against New Zealand. They have been involved in some of the biggest games in world rugby so this semi-final won’t phase them.

“New Zealand is a great team, they have an impressive winning record since the last Rugby World Cup. Like any good team, you have to take away time and space from them and you have to find areas you can pressure them. We believe we have identified a number of areas where we can do that.”

England team to face new zealand

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 37 caps)

14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 40 caps)

13. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 38 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 77 caps) (c)

11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 50 caps)

10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 63 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 93 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 56 caps)

2. Jamie George (Saracens, 43 caps)

3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 29 caps)

4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 32 caps)

5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 79 caps)

6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 17 caps)

7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)

8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 49 caps)


16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 19 caps)

17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 66 caps)

18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 93 caps)

19. George Kruis (Saracens, 39 caps)

20. Mark Wilson (Sale Sharks 16 caps)

21. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 8 caps)

22. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 25 caps)

23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 45 caps)

Watch some of the international stars at The Clash, as Bath Rugby take on Wasps at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 18th April. Tickets available online here or by calling the Ticket Office on 01225 536 900. 

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.