Bath Rugby trio in England squad to face Ireland

22 August 2019

Bath Rugby's Joe Cokanasiga and Sam Underhill have been named in England starting line-up to face Ireland on Saturday at Twickenham Stadium (kick-off 15:00), with Jonathan Joseph included in the replacements. 

Captain Owen Farrell (inside centre), Manu Tuilagi (outside centre) and Ben Youngs (scrum half) start their first match this series. Jonny May will make his first appearance this season on the left wing with Cokanasiga switching to the right wing.
Jamie George, Joe Marler and Kyle Sinckler are named in the front row. Tom Curry and Underhill return from injury to play in the back row alongside Billy Vunipola while George Kruis starts in the second row alongside Maro Itoje.
Mako Vunipola has been named as a finisher following his recovery from long-term injury.
Jones said: “The players have come back in a very good physical and mental state and we have had a good preparation this week. We purposefully made the week short looking ahead to the World Cup where this might happen beyond our control.
“It is the third of four games for us and come the 8th of September, when we get on the plane, we want to be ready to go. This is another step forward for us.
“This weekend we will be looking to gain more game fitness and testing different sorts of game strategies. We have a specific way of how we want to play and the focus is very much on ourselves.” 
On England’s last game at Twickenham before heading to Japan, Jones added: “We have been so appreciative of the support we have had at Twickenham this year and this is our last match there before the tournament, so we look forward to playing well in front of our fans.” 
England team to face Ireland

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 32 caps)
14. Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)
13. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 71 caps) C
11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps)
10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 57 caps) 
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 87 caps) 
1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 60 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 38 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 23 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 28 caps)
5. George Kruis (Saracens, 34 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 11 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 43 caps)

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 13 caps)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 87 caps)
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 73 caps)
20. Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons/Sale Sharks, 13 caps)
21. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps)
22. Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 6 caps)
23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 42 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.