Bath Rugby trio in England squad for World Cup opener

20 September 2019

Bath Rugby's Jonathan Joseph, Sam Underhill and Anthony Watson have been named in the England squad for the Rugby World Cup opener against Tonga on Sunday (11:15 UK time). 

Watson starts on the right wing for Eddie Jones' side, with Sam Underhill at openside flanker for the Pool C clash. Joseph meanwhile has been named among the replacements for the game at the Sapporo Dome. 

Owen Farrell will captain the side at inside centre with George Ford starting at 10. Manu Tuilagi is named at outside centre with Elliot Daly, Jonny May and Watson making up the back three.

England’s most capped scrum half Ben Youngs will start in his 90th match for his country.

Joe Marler, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler line-up in the front row, with Courtney Lawes and Maro Itoje chosen as the lock pairing.

Tom Curry will start at blindside flanker, with Sam Underhill at open and Billy Vunipola at number eight.

Jones said: “The focus this week has been about getting right for Tonga.  We have had a good seven days in Japan where we have acclimatised really well, our sleep patterns are good and the physical conditioning of the players is outstanding. We have been able to add a bit more on our team togetherness and cohesion too.

“Now it is about putting in a game plan against Tonga and it is important to be tactically right. We know they are going to be ferocious and full of pride and passion. They are a side if they get a bit of momentum they can be very dangerous and are well-coached by Toutai Kefu. They have a great World Cup record and we will need to be at our best on Sunday.

“I don’t think there is anyone who isn’t excited about getting out there on Sunday and there is a good feeling around the place. We are delighted to be up here in Sapporo and to play at the stadium will be a unique experience for us and something the team is looking forward to.”

England team to face Tonga 

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 33 caps)

14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 36 caps)

13. Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 35 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 73 caps) C

11. Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 47 caps)

10. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 59 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 89 caps)

1. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 62 caps)

2. Jamie George (Saracens, 40 caps)

3. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 25 caps)

4. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 75 caps)

5. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 29 caps)

6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 13 caps)

7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)

8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 45 caps)


16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 15 caps)

17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 12 caps )

18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 89 caps)

19. George Kruis (Saracens, 35 caps)

20. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)

21. Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)

22. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 22 caps)

23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 42 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.