Bath Rugby ready for the Rebels' challenge

11 August 2011

An exciting mix of familiar faces and new players will run out at the Recreation Ground tomorrow for the first pre-season game of the year, as they line up to face the RaboDirect Melbourne Rebels, kick-off 7.30pm.

Danny Hipkiss, Ryan Caldwell and Carl Fearns will all make their first start in a Bath Rugby shirt, lining up at outside centre, second row and blindside flanker respectively.Other new faces in the squad include prop Charlie Beech, and Academy boys Will Spencer, Max Anderson, Will Skuse, and Tom Heathcote, Paul Roberts and Ollie Woodburn.

In the backs, Hipkiss will line up alongside Tom Biggs, Ben Williams, Nick Scott and Nick Abendanon, with Matt Carraro and Ollie Woodburn set to come on from the bench.

Tom Heathcote and Paul Roberts provide cover at fly-half for Sam Vesty, whilst Chris Cook and Mark McMillan will do the same at scrum-half, with Michael Claassens starting in the number 9 shirt.

A young back row sees Fearns scrum down with Guy Mercer and Ben Skirving, with Skuse and Simon Taylor on the bench.

In the engine room, new captain, Stuart Hooper teams up with Caldwell, with Academy lock Spencer on the bench.
The starting front row sees young guns Nathan Catt and Kane Palma-Newport pack down either side of Pieter Dixon. Beech, Mark Lilley and David Flatman provide back up, with Max Anderson getting his first taste of first XV action.

Tickets are still available for the game - just call the Ticket Office on 0844 448 1865 or pop in to secure yours. Gates open at 5.30pm with a bbq and beer tent on the outfield, with acoustic singer JazZ performing throughout the evening.

Bath Rugby team to face Melbourne Rebels

15. Nick Abendanon
14. Nick Scott
13. Danny Hipkiss
12. Ben Williams
11. Tom Biggs
10. Sam Vesty
9. Michael Claassens
1. Nathan Catt
2. Pieter Dixon
3. Kane Palma-Newport
4. Stuart Hooper (C)
5. Ryan Caldwell
6. Carl Fearns
7. Guy Mercer
8. Ben Skirving


16. Max Anderson
17. David Flatman
18. Mark Lilley
19. Charlie Beech
20. Will Spencer
21. Will Skuse
22. Simon Taylor
23. Chris Cook
24. Mark McMillan
25. Tom Heathcote
26. Paul Roberts
27. Matt Carraro
28. Ollie Woodburn

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.