Bath Rugby quartet set to face South Africa U18

16 August 2019

Orlando Bailey starts at fly-half, with John Stewart and Ethan Staddon in the forward pack, whilst Ewan Richards is named on the bench as the side face South Africa Schools in their final fixture of the U18 International Series.

England U18 Head Coach Jim Mallinder makes eight changes to his side for the match at Hugenote High, Wellington (kick off 13:35pm BST).

In the front row props Phil Brantingham and Fin Baxter return to the starting XV with Kit Smith named at No 8. A new half-back pairing sees Sam Edwards partner Orlando Bailey, while Louis Hillman-Cooper starts at inside centre.

Matthew Ward and Alex Harmes are named on either wing, with flanker Emeka Ilione named as captain. Mallinder's side were beaten in their opening fixture of the tournament by Argentina, before defeating France on Tuesday in Paarl. The tour marks the start of the U18 international season for England’s pathway.

Academy Manager, Craig Lilley, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity for the players to challenge themselves in their final game in South Africa. 

"These experiences will not only enhance the players’ skills in the short term, but will help provide some strong reference points to guide their development in the long term.

"Hopefully the guys will come back to us next week excited about building on what they have learnt from being involved together in these games”

England men XV to face South Africa Schools

15. Oliver Melville – Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School)

14. Matthew Ward – Newcastle Falcons (Gosforth Academy)

13. Will Joseph – London Irish (Millfield School)

12. Louis Hillman-Cooper – Gloucester Rugby (Cheltenham College)

11. Alex Harmes – London Irish (St Pauls College)

10. Orlando Bailey – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

9. Sam Edwards – Leicester Tigers (Brooksby Melton College)

1. Phil Brantingham – Newcastle Falcons (RGS Newcastle)

2. John Stewart – Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

3. Fin Baxter – Harlequins (Wellington College)

4. Freddie Thomas – Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)

5. Ethan Staddon - Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

6. Emeka Ilione (captain) – Leicester Tigers (Rugby School)

7. Harry Taylor - Gloucester Rugby (Clifton College)

8. Kit Smith – Leicester Tigers (Oakham School)


16. Tarek Haffar – London Irish (St Pauls College)

17. Joe Keohane – London Irish (St Pauls College)

18. Ewan Richards – Bath Rugby (Millfield School)

19. Daniel Eckersley – Wasps (Bloxham School)

20. Will Trenholm – Harlequins (Cranleigh School)

21. Sam Bryan – Saracens (Felsted School)

22. Ethan Grayson – Northampton Saints (Northampton School for Boys)

23. Michael Dykes – London Irish (St Pauls College)

24. Oscar Beard – Harlequins (Cranleigh School)

25. Charlie Atkinson – Wasps (Abingdon School)

U18 International Series fixtures (all times BST):

Friday August 9 2019 – Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch

England U18 19-29 Argentina U18

Tuesday August 13 2019 – Paarl Gymnasium, Paarl

England U18 29-25 France U18

Saturday August 17 2019 – Hugenote High, Wellington

11:00   SA Schools A vs Argentina U18

12:30   France U18 vs Wales U18

14:00   SA Schools vs England U18

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.