Bath Rugby name team for Anglo-Welsh Cup opener

3 November 2017

Bath Rugby have named the team to take on London Irish at the Madejski Stadium tomorrow in the opening round of the Anglo-Welsh Cup, kick-off 15:00.

James Wilson will make his Club debut at outside centre, as will Levi Davis on the wing. Ben Tapuai returns to partner Wilson in the midfield, with Jack Wilson taking his place on the opposite wing to Davis. Darren Atkins makes his first appearance of the season at fullback, while Freddie Burns and Darren Allinson link-up to control proceedings in the half-backs.

Up front, Club captain Matt Garvey makes his starting return from injury, having come off the bench last week, and there are starting debuts for Josh Bayliss on the openside flank and James Phillips in the second row. Paul Grant completes the back row at number eight and Levi Douglas joins Phillips in the engine room. Max Lahiff also returns from injury at tighthead, scrumming down with Nick Auterac and Michael van Vuuren.

Unavailable for selection: Dave Attwood, Ross Batty, Chris Cook, Tom Dunn, Tom Ellis, Charlie Ewels, Taulupe Faletau, Tom Homer, Jonathan Joseph, Shaun Knight, Francois Louw, Zach Mercer, Kane Palma-Newport, Rhys Priestland, Semesa Rokoduguni, Henry Thomas, Sam Underhill, Anthony Watson, Jeff Williams.   

Bath Rugby team to face London Irish   

15. Darren Atkins   

14. Levi Davis   

13. James Wilson   

12. Ben Tapuai   

11. Jack Wilson  

10. Freddie Burns   

9. Darren Allinson   

1. Nick Auterac   

2. Michael van Vuuren   

3. Max Lahiff   

4. Levi Douglas   

5. James Phillips   

6. Matt Garvey ( c )   

7. Josh Bayliss   

8. Paul Grant  


16. Jack Walker   

17. Will Vaughan   

18. Sam Nixon

19. Elliott Stooke

20. Oscar Backhouse

21. Max Green   

22. Matt Banahan

23. Max Clark

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.