Bath Rugby change three for trip to Newcastle

31 December 2015

Bath Rugby have made three changes to the starting line-up that will take on Newcastle Falcons at Kingston Park on Saturday 2nd January, kick-off 15.00.

Up front, Nick Auterac returns to take his position on the loosehead side of the scrum, with Ross Batty and Henry Thomas alongside him. 

Matt Garvey and Charlie Ewels are partnered in the engine room, as Guy Mercer again captains the team from the openside. Completing the pack are Leroy Houston on the blindside and David Denton at the base of the scrum.

Niko Matawalu joins Rhys Priestland in the half-backs, with the midfield combination of Ollie Devoto and Jonathan Joseph continuing. 

Matt Banahan is the final change to the side that beat Worcester last weekend, coming onto the left wing. Horacio Agulla moves across to the right wing and Tom Homer keeps his place at fullback.

Bath Rugby team to face Newcastle Falcons

15. Tom Homer

14. Horacio Agulla

13. Jonathan Joseph

12. Ollie Devoto                      

11. Matt Banahan

10. Rhys Priestland

9. Niko Matawalu

1. Nick Auterac

2. Ross Batty

3. Henry Thomas

4. Matt Garvey

5. Charlie Ewels

6. Leroy Houston

7. Guy Mercer ( c )

8. David Denton


16. Rob Webber

17. Max Lahiff

18. David Wilson

19. Dominic Day

20. Francois Louw

21. Jonathan Evans

22. George Ford

23. Anthony Watson

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.