Agulla named in Pumas squad for Rugby Championship

4 August 2014

Bath Rugby wing Horacio Agulla has been named in the 26-man Argentina squad for the 2014 Rugby Championship.

The Pumas will open their campaign on August 16 with an away match against South Africa in Pretoria and, having lost all six of their matches in the tournament in 2013, coach Daniel Hourcade believes his group will do their country proud.

Hourcade said: "Playing against South Africa as visitors will be tough, but the key will be to not let them be comfortable, tackle low and not let them play. I have a lot of confidence in the team."

Agulla scored in his last outing for the Pumas: a 56-22 victory in the second of two warm-up matches against Grenoble last Saturday. 

Argentina squad:

Backs: Joaquin Tuculet, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Manuel Montero, Horacio Agulla, Juan Imhoff, Marcelo Bosch, Nicolas Sanchez, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Martin Hernandez, Martin Landajo, Tomas Cubelli.

Forwards: Juan Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Pablo Matera, Leonardo Senatore, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza, Matias Alemanno, Marcos Ayerza, Ramiro Herrera, Lucas Noguera Paz, Bruno Postiglioni, Nuhuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matias Cortese, Agustin Creevy (captain).


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.