Bath Rugby teams named for Welsh Double Header

23 August 2012

Bath Rugby have named their sides to face Llandovery and Cardiff Blues in the Welsh Double Header at the Recreation Ground tomorrow night.

Bath United get things underway at 17.30, taking on Principality Premiership side Llandovery.

The United side is one of youth mixed with experience, as the likes of Sam Vesty, Mark McMillan, Ben Williams, Josh Ovens, Charlie Beech and Guy Mercer line up alongside Academy and University Scholars Ben Loosmore, Alex Brown, Will Tanner and Joe Buckle amongst others.

Bath Rugby will then run out for their final pre-season game before the Aviva Premiership season gets underway next weekend, against a star-studded Cardiff Blues side.

Paul James makes his first start for Bath up front, alongside Lee Mears and David Wilson. Stuart Hooper captains the side from the second row where he is joined by Dominic Day, and Carl Fearns, Francois Louw and Ben Skirving give power and mobility in the back row.

Olly Barkley starts at fly-half, partnering Michael Claassens, with Tom Biggs and Kyle Eastmond out wide on the wings. Matt Banahan and Dan Hipkiss continue their combination in the centres, as Nick Abendanon completes the line-up at fullback.

Rob Webber, Simon Taylor, James Tyas, Stephen Donald, Anthony Perenise, Tom Heathcote, Ryan Caldwell, JJ Kilmartin and Richard Lane were all unavailable for selection.

Tickets are still available for tomorrow's games, with one ticket covering entry for both games, so call the Ticket Office now on 0844 448 1865 to help the boys make it four pre-season wins out of four!

Bath United side to face Llandovery

15. Sam Vesty; 14. Ben Loosmore, 13. Ben Mosses, 12. Ben Williams, 11. Alex Brown; 10. Craig Ronaldson, 9. Mark McMillan; 1. Charlie Beech, 2. Will Tanner, 3. Adam Jamieson, 4. Will Spencer, 5. Jake Oldaker, 6. Guy Mercer, 7. Joe Buckle, 8. Josh Ovens


16. Jake Fields, 17. Tom Dunn, 18. Tom Vaughan-Edwards, 19. Sam Lewis, 20. James Bloxham, 21. Freddie Clarke, 22. Tom Baldwin, 23. George Drury, 24. Ed Hainsworth, 25. Oliver Evans, 26. Freddie Gabbitas

Bath Rugby side to face Cardiff Blues

15. Nick Abendanon; 14. Tom Biggs, 13. Dan Hipkiss, 12. Matt Banahan, 11. Kyle Eastmond; 10. Olly Barkley, 9. Michael Claassens; 1. Paul James, 2. Lee Mears, 3. David Wilson, 4. Stuart Hooper ( c ), 5. Dominic Day, 6. Carl Fearns, 7. Francois Louw, 8. Ben Skirving


16. Ross Batty, 17. Nathan Catt, 18. Kane Palma-Newport, 19. Dave Attwood, 20. Will Skuse, 21. Chris Cook, 22. Ollie Devoto, 23. Olly Woodburn, 24. Jack Cuthbert

New to Bath Rugby?

Join us in our 150TH year for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.