The house is in the Gothic Revival style which was an architecture that came back into fashion as a reaction to the aesthetics of mass production - something much more picturesque and romantic.
Farleigh House has a rich and interesting history. The current main house was completed in around 1820 for John Houlton, a wealthy Trowbridge clothier. Over the years the house has served as a place of residence, a school and college and more latterly a place of work. Then, finally, on 14th April 2010, it was announced that Bath Rugby would be establishing a dedicated, elite training facility here.
Since then a lot of work has been done to meet the planning requirements needed to convert a listed building into an elite training headquarters.
After ‘bedding in’, work progressed. The old Chapel building has been converted into a state of the art gym and the outbuildings, although little more than a pile of rubble with a corrugated roof on top, have been converted into the Long Barn which houses changing and showering facilities, a strapping area, medical centre, rehab space and a meeting space complete with state-of-the-art technology.
Alongside the building works we have continued the restoration of the landscape, and built two full-size natural pitches and a half-size 4G artificial pitch. We have also carried out a major programme of improvements and further restoration in the main house.
The players, coaches, medics and analysts now work alongside the administration staff and our dedicated team of estate workers, gardeners, builders, and stone masons and our excellent chef, kitchen staff and housekeepers in one home. The focus on Farleigh House is one big team working together to achieve excellence and commitment both on and off the pitch.
For full directions click here.