Rokoduguni to start for England against Fiji

18 November 2016

Bath Rugby winger Semesa Rokoduguni will wear number 14 for England against Fiji tomorrow, joining teammates George Ford and Jonathan Joseph in the starting line-up for the Old Mutual Wealth Series clash at Twickenham, kick-off 14.30.

Bath lock Charlie Ewels is also named in the matchday squad, and could make his senior international debut from the bench.

“We’ve picked a side to beat Fiji,” said Jones.

“Every Test match is an opportunity for us to keep improving and to increase the depth of the squad.  We’ve made a few changes from last week and those players have a great chance to put their best foot forward and make the team better.

“England at Twickenham is the game Fiji will have targeted on their tour. They are one of the iconic rugby nations of the world and we respect them enormously. They bring flair and an unbridled enthusiasm to move the ball at pace, with running skills – if the game becomes unstructured they can be a very dangerous team. They’ll come to Twickenham with no fear and hungry to cause an upset.

“While we were satisfied with last week’s result against South Africa, there was plenty to improve on. We want a much more complete performance on Saturday – we want to be in total control of the game and tidy-up the things we didn’t do well enough last weekend.”

Also in action this weekend is Kahn Fotuali'i, who will start for Samoa against Georgia. 

England match-day 23 for the Old Mutual Wealth Series game against Fiji

15. Alex Goode (Saracens, 20 caps)

14. Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)

13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 44 caps)

11. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 6 caps)

10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 27 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 62 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 36 caps)

2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 76 caps)

3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps)

4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 36 caps)

5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 50 caps)

6. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 52 caps)

7. Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)

8. Billy Vunipola (vice captain, Saracens, 30 caps)


16. Jamie George (Saracens, 9 caps)

17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 43 caps)

18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 1 cap)

19. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

20. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 1 cap)

21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 63 caps)

22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 1 cap)

23. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.