Louw named on the bench for South Africa

6 September 2012

Popular Bath Rugby back row, Francois Louw has been named on the bench for South Africa's third Test in the 2012 Castle Rugby Championship against Australia in Perth on Saturday.

DHL Western Province No 8 Duane Vermeulen will make his Springbok debut against Australia with Toyota Free State Cheetahs fly-half Johan Goosen selected on the bench. Goosen will earn his first Springbok cap if he makes an appearance at Paterson's Stadium.

Adriaan Strauss has been included at hooker after coming through a first set of fitness tests, but he will be given until Friday to fully shake off his knee injury.

Vermeulen's inclusion at the back of the scrum is one of five changes from the starting team that played Argentina in Mendoza recently. Two of these changes are positional, with Francois Hougaard moving from scrumhalf to left wing and Willem Alberts shifting from No 8 to flank.

Apart from Vermeulen, there is a recall for lock Juandré Kruger, while Ruan Pienaar will start his first Test of 2012 at scrumhalf. This has resulted in two further changes to the bench – Francois Louw has been included in the match 22 for the first time this season, while Lwazi Mvovo is also among the replacements.

"We've decided to put Duane straight into the starting team because he is a classic No 8, a position we've lacked in since Pierre Spies got injured and Ryan Kankowski moved to Japan," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer in Perth on Wednesday.

"I've always admired the way Duane plays rugby and he's fitted in very well the past week. He would've been a Springbok years ago if it had not been for injuries and it's great to finally see him selected.

"The same goes for Johan, who in my mind can become one of the great flyhalves in world rugby. I've been very impressed with his work ethic and attitude since he joined the squad on Thursday in Johannesburg and we will keep on managing him carefully over the next few weeks."

Commenting on the other changes to the team, Meyer said: "Ruan brings a more tactical approach to scrumhalf, while I've always been impressed with Francois at wing.

"At lock we've decided to go for Juandré as he plays more to the ball. Juandré and Eben played well as a combination in the June Tests against England. And by including Francois on the bench, we have a specialist opensider, but also a versatile loose forward that brings a bit more balance to our back row mix."

The Springbok team boasts a total of 451 Test caps: 339 of those are in the backline, while the forwards have 112 caps – one more than the total of Springbok caps accumulated by former captain John Smit in his career.

The Springbok team to face Australia in Perth is:

15. Zane Kirchner - Vodacom Blue Bulls
14. Bryan Habana - DHL Western Province
13. Jean de Villiers (captain) - DHL Western Province
12. Frans Steyn - The Sharks
11. Francois Hougaard - Vodacom Blue Bulls
10. Morné Steyn - Vodacom Blue Bulls
9. Ruan Pienaar - Ulster
8. Duane Vermeulen - DHL Western Province
7. Willem Alberts - The Sharks
6. Marcell Coetzee - The Sharks
5. Juandré Kruger - Vodacom Blue Bulls
4. Eben Etzebeth - DHL Western Province
3. Jannie du Plessis - The Sharks
2. Adriaan Strauss (vice-captain) - Toyota FS Cheetahs
1. Tendai Mtawarira - The Sharks

16. Tiaan Liebenberg - DHL Western Province
17. Pat Cilliers - MTN Golden Lions
18. Flip van der Merwe - Vodacom Blue Bulls
19. Francois Louw - Bath Rugby
20. Johan Goosen - Toyota FS Cheetahs
21. Pat Lambie - The Sharks
22. Lwazi Mvovo - The Sharks

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.