Bath Rugby team to face Ospreys

17 August 2012

Bath Rugby head west tomorrow for their second pre-season match as they take on Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium, kick-off 15.00.

Nick Abendanon starts at fullback, with Tom Biggs and Olly Woodburn named on the wings, and Dan Hipkiss and Matt Banahan continue their centre partnership.

Sam Vesty returns to the side at fly-half, joining half back partner Michael Claassens who will captain the side, with Club captain Stuart Hooper starting on the bench.

Nathan Catt and Anthony Perenise scrum down either side of Lee Mears in the front row, as Dave Attwood and Will Spencer partner up in the second row. Will Skuse, Guy Mercer and Carl Fearns complete the pack in the back row.

Rob Webber, Josh Ovens, Ryan Caldwell, David Wilson, Simon Taylor, Ben Williams and Stephen Donald are receiving treatment for knocks picked up in training, Tom Heathcote is out with a knee injury and Kyle Eastmond is unavailable as he is attending a family wedding.

Speaking before the game, Head Coach Gary Gold said: "We got a good run out last weekend, and whilst we were happy with the win we know there are still areas of our game that need work. Ospreys have a very talented squad, and with their internationals coming into the mix, we know that we will get a good, physical challenge to test us, which is what we need at this stage in pre-season.

"We've still got a few of the squad out with various knocks picked up over the last couple of weeks, and it looks like Tom will be out for around six weeks with the knee injury he picked up against London Welsh last week. It's disappointing for him and for us, but we have Sam Vesty, Olly Barkley and Ollie Devoto fit and all very capable of playing fly-half when needed."

Bath Rugby squad to face Ospreys

15. Nick Abendanon

14. Tom Biggs

13. Dan Hipkiss

12. Matt Banahan

11. Olly Woodburn

10. Sam Vesty

9. Michael Claassens (c)

1. Nathan Catt

2. Lee Mears

3. Anthony Perenise

4. Dave Attwood

5. Will Spencer

6. Will Skuse

7. Guy Mercer

8. Carl Fearns


16. Ross Batty

17. Paul James

18. Kane Palma-Newport

19. Stuart Hooper

20. Dominic Day

21. Joe Buckle

22. Francois Louw

23. Ben Skirving

24. Chris Cook

25. Olly Barkley

26. Jack Cuthbert

27. Charlie Beech

28. Mark McMillan

29. Ollie Devoto

30. Ben Mosses

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.