England Sevens Player of the Year Will Muir handed first start

11 February 2021

Following an impressive Bath Rugby debut last Saturday, Will Muir is set to make his first start against Sale Sharks at the AJ Bell Stadium tomorrow evening. The Blue, Black and White will be looking for the former England Sevens man to inject pace and attacking dynamism into the team once-again.

Semesa Rokoduguni retains his position on the right wing with Tom de Glanville completing the back-three at full-back.

There has been consistency in selection in the centres, with Bath opting for Josh Matavesi at inside centre and Max Clark setting up outside the Fijian.

World Cup finalist Ben Spencer will marshal his forwards from scrum-half with the experienced Rhys Priestland controlling affairs from his customary outside-half spot.

The front row is unchanged from last weekend’s outing against Harlequins as Juan Schoeman starts at loose-head prop with Christian Judge holding up the other side of the scrum. England-capped Tom Dunn maintains his role at hooker.

Fit again Josh McNally returns to the fold to captain the team from the second row, locking down alongside Zimbabwe-born Mike Williams.

In the back row, Josh Bayliss returns to his more familiar role of blindside flanker with Miles Reid operating at 7. Zach Mercer completes the pack at No 8.

The Bath coaching team have chosen a 5:3 bench split as Jack Walker, Jamie Bhatti and former Sale Shark Henry Thomas provide the replacement front row cover. Ewan Richards, who made his Club debut last weekend, joins Ethan Staddon as additional forward support.

The ever-present Will Chudley is set to win his 50th Club cap if he takes over at 9, with newcomer Tian Schoeman the reserve fly half. Alex Gray, the former NFL and England Sevens player is named amongst the replacements for the first time and should he be called upon, will make his Club debut.

Sale Sharks v Bath Rugby Live Match Centre

Bath Rugby side to face SALE SHARKS

15. Tom de Glanville14. Semesa Rokoduguni, 13. Max Clark, 12. Josh Matavesi, 11. Will Muir, 10. Rhys Priestland, 9. Ben Spencer, 1. Juan Schoeman, 2. Tom Dunn, 3. Christian Judge, 4. Josh McNally (c), 5. Mike Williams, 6. Josh Bayliss, 7. Miles Reid, 8. Zach Mercer 


16. Jack Walker, 17. Jamie Bhatti, 18. Henry Thomas, 19. Ewan Richards, 20. Ethan Staddon, 21. Will Chudley, 22. Tian Schoeman, 23. Alex Gray


15. Simon Hammersley, 14. Byron McGuigan, 13. Connor Doherty, 12. Sam Hill, 11. Tom Roebuck, 10. Robert Du Preez, 9. Will Cliff, 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Curtis Langdon, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 4. James Phillips, 5. JP Du Preez, 6. Jean-Luc Du Preez, 7. Jono Ross (c), 8. Dan Du Preez 


16. Ewan Ashman, 17. Valery Morozov, 18. WillGriff John, 19. Matt Postlethwaite, 20. Cameron Neild, 21. Faf De Klerk, 22. AJ Macginty, 23. Luke James

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.