Max Clark returns for Northampton as Bath ring changes

25 August 2020

Bath Rugby make a raft of changes to the matchday squad with 13 changes in all as the side travel up to Franklin’s Gardens to face Northampton Saints in Round 16 of the Gallagher Premiership (kick-off 19:45, live on BT Sport 2).

After scoring his maiden Premiership try last time out, Tom de Glanville comes in for Anthony Watson at full-back, as the side also sees Max Clark return from a long-term injury. The centre returns to the starting XV for the first time since the opening day of the 2019/20 Gallagher Premiership campaign in October.

Gabriel Hamer-Webb will make his first appearance since facing Ulster away in the final round of the European Champions Cup, replacing Ruaridh McConnochie, who is named as a replacement. It is also Hamer-Webb’s first start since progressing to the senior squad.

Josh Matavesi swaps in for Rhys Priestland, who is named on the bench, and will form a new partnership with Will Chudley, who replaces Ben Spencer at scrum-half. 

Beno Obano, Jack Walker and Christian Judge all come in to make up a new front row partnership with Bath Rugby changing the entire forward pack.

Will Spencer makes his second debut for the Club, having re-joined the Blue, Black and White in June 2020 from Leicester Tigers. The supporter favourite is joined in the second row with Elliott Stooke, who comes in for Charlie Ewels.

Mike Williams, captain Josh Bayliss and Zach Mercer come into replace Tom Ellis, Sam Underhill, Taulupe Faletau in the back row. 

A notable return to the bench also sees Miles Reid back into the fold having recovered well from an ACL tear on the very first day of the season against Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park in the Premiership Rugby Cup.

Bath Rugby side to face Northampton Saints

15. Tom de Glanville, 14. Semesa Rokoduguni, 13. Max Clark, 12. Cameron Redpath, 11. Gabriel Hamer-Webb, 10. Josh Matavesi, 9. Will Chudley; 1. Beno Obano, 2. Jack Walker, 3. Christian Judge, 4. Will Spencer, 5. Elliott Stooke, 6. Mike Williams, 7. Josh Bayliss (C), 8. Zach Mercer 


16. Tom Dunn, 17. Lewis Boyce, 18. Will Stuart, 19. Charlie Ewels, 20. Miles Reid, 21. Ben Spencer, 22. Rhys Priestland, 23. Ruaridh McConnochie


15. Harry Mallinder, 14. Ahsee Tuala, 13. Fraser Dingwall, 12. Piers Francis, 11. Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10. Dan Biggar, 9. Henry Taylor; 1. Nick Auterac, 2. James Fish, 3. Owen Franks, 4. David Ribbans, 5. Api Ratuniyarawa, 6. Courtney Lawes, 7. JJ Tonks, 8. Teimana Harrison (c)


16. Sam Matavesi, 17. Francois van Wyk, 18. Ehren Paintr, 19. Lewis Bean, 20. Tui Uri, 21. Tom James, 22. Rory Hutchinson, 23. Tommy Freeman


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.