Bath Rugby make four changes for trip to Sale Sharks

5 May 2017

Bath Rugby has made four changes to the starting line-up for the last game of the regular Aviva Premiership season against Sale Sharks at the AJ Bell Stadium, kick-off 16:00.

Beno Obano replaces the injured Nathan Catt at loosehead prop and will feature in the front row alongside Chris Brooker and Shaun Knight.

There is also a change in the second row, as Dave Attwood continues his comeback alongside the in-form Elliott Stooke, who played a key role in last weekend’s 44-20 triumph over West Country rivals Gloucester Rugby.

Tom Ellis returns to the starting line-up at blindside flanker, whilst co-captain Francois Louw dons the number seven shirt for the away trip to Manchester. Taulupe Faletau completes the pack, with the Welsh international looking to maintain his rich vein of form following his hat-trick against the Cherry and Whites.

Kahn Fotuali’i and co-captain Rhys Priestland will combine in the half-back pairing, with Ben Tapuai and Max Clark continuing at inside and outside centre respectively.

After missing the local derby, Matt Banahan returns to the squad to take his place on the right wing, with Aled Brew and Tom Homer completing the back three.

Anthony Watson, Luke Charteris and Nathan Catt all picked up slight knocks last time out, and Semesa Rokoduguni suffered a medial ligament injury playing in the Army v Navy game last Saturday, so all four are unavailable for selection this week.

Unavailable for selection: Nick Auterac, Nathan Catt, Luke Charteris, Harry Davies, Levi Douglas, Tom Dunn, Charlie Ewels, Max Lahiff, Semesa Rokoduguni, Henry Thomas, Michael van Vuuren, Jack Walker, Anthony Watson, Jeff Williams

Bath Rugby team to face Sale Sharks

15. Tom Homer

14. Matt Banahan

13. Max Clark

12. Ben Tapuai

11. Aled Brew

10. Rhys Priestland (co-capt)

9. Kahn Fotuali’i

1. Beno Obano

2. Chris Brooker

3. Shaun Knight

4. Elliott Stooke

5. Dave Attwood

6. Tom Ellis

7. Francois Louw (co-capt)

8. Taulupe Faletau


16. Ross Batty

17. Darryl Marfo

18. Kane Palma-Newport

19. Matt Garvey

20. Paul Grant

21. Chris Cook

22. George Ford

23. Robbie Fruean

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.