Ford, Joseph, Attwood, Charteris and Fotuali'i all in International action

10 November 2016

Bath Rugby trio George Ford, Dave Attwood and Jonathan Joseph have been named by Eddie Jones in the matchday squad to face South Africa for Saturday’s Old Mutual Wealth Series opener at Twickenham, kick-off 14.30 live on Sky Sports 1.

Captain Dylan Hartley will pack down alongside Dan Coles and Mako Vunipola in the first row, while Joe Launchbury and Courtney Lawes will form a solid second row with Dave Attwood ready to make an impact from the bench. At the base of the scrum Chris Robshaw packs down alongside the returning Tom Wood and Billy Vunipola. 

Ben Youngs and George Ford will continue their experienced partnership in the half backs, while Owen Farrell will play alongside centre Elliot Daly in the midfield, a move which see’s Jonathan Joseph take his place on the bench. Jonny May, Marland Yarde and Mike Brown complete the back three.


Elsewhere, Bath Rugby lock Luke Charteris has been named in the Welsh starting line-up for the second match of the Under Armour Series, this time against Argentina, on Saturday, kick-off 17.30 at the Principality Stadium. 

Wales have made six changes from last week’s line-up against the Wallabies.

The most capped Welsh player of all time and Captain, Gareth Jenkins, will lead the team supported by Ken Owens and Samson Lee in the first row. After having missed last week’s test Alun Wyn Jones is back in the starting line-up forming an experienced second row partnership with Charteris. Sam Warburton returns in the starting back-row too, partnering alongside Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty at the back of the scrum.

Gareth Davies will form the half back combination alongside Dan Biggar. Scott Williams returns to the team forming an explosive midfield alongside his Scarlets teammate Jonathan Davies, while the back trio will be Liam Williams and George North on the wings, and Leigh Halfpenny at fullback.


Additionally, Kahn Fotuali'i will make his return to the Samoa team, as they face France in Toulouse this Saturday (kick-off, 17:45 local time).

The forward pack will be composed of Sakaria Taulafo, Manu Leiatua and the veteran, but tireless Census Johnston. Christopher Vui will partner Teofilo Paulo in second row, while the back-row will be composed of Alafoti Faosiliva, Jack Lam and Genesis Mamea-Lemalu.

Fotuali'i will partner Patrick Faapale in the half backs, followed by a strong combination of Reynold Lee-Lo and George Pisi in the midfield. Paul Perez, Paul Williams and Samoa captain David Lemi will form the back three.


England match-day 23 for the Old Mutual Wealth Series game against South Africa 

15. Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 52 caps)

14. Marland Yarde (Harlequins, 9 caps)

13. Elliot Daly (Wasps, 5 caps)

12. Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 43 caps)

11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 19 caps)

10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)

9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 61 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 35 caps)

2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 75 caps)

3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 65 caps)

4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 35 caps)

5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 49 caps)

6. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 51 caps)

7. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 42 caps)

8. Billy Vunipola (vice captain, Saracens, 29 caps).



16. Jamie George (Saracens, 8 caps)

17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 42 caps)

18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, uncapped)

19. Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 23 caps)

20. Nathan Hughes (Wasps, uncapped)

21. Danny Care (Harlequins, 62 caps)

22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)

23. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 25 caps).



Wales team to play Argentina:

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon, 63 Caps)

14. George North (Northampton Saints, 63 Caps) 

13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets, 56 Caps) 

12. Scott Williams (Scarlets, 39 Caps)

11. Liam Williams (Scarlets, 35 Caps)

10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys, 49 Caps)

9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets, 18 Caps)

1. Gethin Jenkins (Captain, Cardiff Blues, 127 Caps) 

2. Ken Owens (Scarlets, 43 Caps)

3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs, 15 Caps)

4. Luke Charteris (Bath Rugby, 69 Caps)

5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, 102 Caps)

6. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, 67 Caps)

7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys, 44 Caps)

8. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester, 10 Caps)



16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys, 24 Caps) 

17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys, 4 Caps) 

18. Samson Lee (Scarlets, 27 Caps) 

19. Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons, 1 Cap)

20. James King (Ospreys, 9 Caps) 

21. Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues, 27 Caps) 

22. Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues, 8 Cap) 

23. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins, 84 Caps)


Samoa team to play France:

15. Paul Williams (Stade Francais)

14. Paul Perez (Stade Toulousain)

13. George Pisi (Northampton Saints)

12. Reynold Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues)

11. David Lemi (Captain, Bristol Rugby)

10. Patrick Faapale (Fiamme Oro)

9. Kahn Fotuali'i (Bath Rugby)

1. Sakaria Taulafo (Stade Francais)

2. Manu Leiataua (Stade Aurillacois Cantal Auvergne) 

3. Census Johnston (Stade Toulousain)

4. Christopher Vui (North Harbour)

5. Teofilo Paulo (Benetton Treviso)

6. Alafoti Faosiliva (Worcester Warriors)

7. Jack Lam (Bristol Rugby)

8. Genesis Mamea-Lemalu (USA Perpignan)



16. Elia Elia (University of Canterbury)/Seilala Lam (USO Nevers)

17. Logovii Mulipola (Leicester Tigers)

18. Anthony Perenise (Bristol Rugby)

19. Jeff Lepa (Tasman Makos)

20. Gregory Foe (Wellington)

21.  Pelefofoga Cowley (Waikato)

22. D'Angelo Leuila (Southland)

23. Ken Pisi (Northampton Saints)


New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.