Agulla and Attwood dominate awards

9 May 2013

Horacio Agulla and Dave Attwood both picked up two awards at the Bath Rugby Annual Awards Evening last night, hosted by Club President David Trick.

Agulla's tenacity and consistency throughout the season saw him scoop the Best Back award, with his nose for the try-line seeing him also crowned the Club's Top Try Scorer of the season, with 11 tries in total.

Attwood, who it was announced yesterday would be in England's squad to tour Argentina this summer, has been rewarded for his tremendous work rate and physicality this season with the Best Forward award, and also received the recognition of his peers by being nominated as Players' Player of the Season.

Rugby league convert Kyle Eastmond, who has also been selected to tour with England this summer following his first full season of rugby union, jinked his way to Try of the Season with his stunning effort back in September against London Wasps.

Our flying Fijian, Semesa Rokoduguni, was chosen by the coaches as Most Improved after some stunning contributions this season, whilst Ryan Caldwell took home the Community Player of the Season after his great work as Ambassador of the Hitz Bath programme, which supports young people at risk of exclusion and anti-social behaviour through rugby.

Following some stiff competition, inspirational Springbok Francois Louw was voted Supporters' Player of the Season. Mark Greenman, the winning supporter, was invited on stage alongside Francois Louw as both collected their prize of a stay at the luxurious Babington House, who sponsored the award.  

Young second-row Will Spencer was the Academy Player of the Season, having broken through and shone in his first team appearances through this year. His sheer size alone led to gasps from the guests as he took the stage!

For the first time, this year's Spirit of Rugby award was awarded to a local community coach. Ex-Bath player and Avon coach Clive Book spent 20 years in the blue, black and white before moving back to his old club where, for the last 15 years, he has worked tirelessly to make them the best amateur side in the area. Described as a true legend of the game, Clive thanked former Bath Head Coach Jack Rowell during his acceptance speech.

Special thanks must go to the Award Sponsors of the evening: Novia, Wadworth, Thatchers, Herman Miller, Chepstow Plant International Ltd, Thrings Solicitors, Polamco, Getronics, The Baines Family and Babington House.  And of course thank you to all who attended the event and helped to make it such a special evening.

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.