Squads announced for U17 ‘North v South’ Academy fixture

27 February 2020

England have named their squads for the upcoming U17 North v South Festival from Friday 28th to Sunday 29th with three Bath academy youngsters have been selected.

49 players have been selected with 24 in the North squad and 25 in the South squad for a three day training camp from Friday 28th February to Sunday 1st March. The training camp takes place in Bristol and will feature a North v South game at 11am on Sunday 1st March at North Bristol RFC.

Linking up with the squads from Bath are Beechen Cliff School duo Jasper Spandler and Mackenzie Graham and Daunsey’s Tom Ahl.

While all three players have been heavily involved in Bath U18s campaign this season as U17s the selections can be viewed as another positive step towards Bath Rugby's aim to have a first team squad made up of 50% homegrown players by 2023.

Front Rower, Jasper Spandler moved to Beechen Cliff School from Warminster at the beginning of the season. After some outstanding performances with Beechen, he went on made his Bath U18 debut against Bristol.

Second Rower, Mackenzie Graham has been at Beechen Cliff since Year 7. He has also had an outstanding season in the AASE League where he was rewarded with a number of starts in the U18 League. 

Tom Ahl made his Bath U18 debut this season against Bristol after returning from a knee injury that kept him out for most of his school fixtures for Dauntseys, showing excellent resilience despite his set back.

Bath Rugby Academy Manager, Craig Lilley, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity for our young men who have performed consistently this season.

The experience will be another opportunity to challenge themselves in a different environment to what they have previously experienced. All three players have shown real drive in their development and I am delighted that this has been recognised.

The players would have learnt a lot from the exposure they have had this year, particularly playing against players that are almost a year older. The way they have all adapted and progressed their individual game to meet demands that have been higher than they have been used to has been impressive.

Our pathway has taken great strides in the past few seasons, and to have young men like these as role models for our incoming U16s is brilliant, we have a great opportunity to build on this as a club, and continue to support players from our region to progress with Bath Rugby.”


Morgan Adderly-Jones - Gloucester (Hartpury College)

Emeka Atuanya - Northampton Saints (Northampton School for Boys)

Alfie Bell - Wasps (King Henry VIII, Coventry)

Freddy Clark - Yorkshire Carnegie (Woodhouse Grove School)

Ben Copley - Yorkshire Carnegie (Hymers College)

Will Cusack- Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College)

Ollie Dawkins - Wasps (RGS High Wycombe)

Mark Dormer - Newcastle Falcons (RGS Newcastle)

Ben  Douglas - Newcastle Falcons (Gosforth Academy)

Greg Fisilau - Wasps (City of Oxford College)

Aaron Florestein - Wasps (Merchant Taylors School)

Ewan Greenlaw - Newcastle Falcons (Durham School)

Ned Hawker - Yorkshire Carnegie (Woodhouse Grove School)

Henry Joule - Leicester Tigers (Oakham School)

Rekeiti Ma'asi-White - Wasps (Harrow School)

Guy Pepper - Newcastle Falcons (Barnard Castle School)

Seb Smith - Leicester Tigers (Stamford School)

Jasper Spandler - Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

Jake Sterland - Leicester Tigers (Brooksby Melton College)

Phil Tandoh - Leicester Tigers (Stamford School)

Fin Thomas - Worcester Warriors (Stourport High & 6th Form (AASE))

Nye Thomas - Sale Sharks (Liverpool College)

Olly Tomalin - Yorkshire Carnegie (St Peter's School)

Toby Wilson - Worcester Warriors (Stourport High & 6th Form (AASE))


Tom Ahl - Bath Rugby (Dauntsey's School)

Henry Arundell - London Irish (Harrow school)

Monty Bradbury - London Irish (Wellington College)

Fyn Brown - Wasps (Shiplake College)

Kofi Cripps - Wasps (Rugby School)

Tobias Elliott - Saracens (Watford Grammar School)

Kian Gentry - Exeter Chiefs (Exeter College)

Mackenzie Graham - Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)

Milo Hallam - Exeter Chiefs (Truro College)

Jesper Hartikainen - London Irish (Hampton School)

Zack Hill - Saracens (Oaklands College)

Geordie Irvine - Northampton Saints (Oundle School)

Nathan Jibulu - Harlequins (Seaford College)

Matty Jones - Bristol Bears (SGS Filton College)

Tom Lynagh – Harlequins (Epsom College)

Tom Miles - Worcester Warriors (King Henry VIII, Coventry)

Kitan Ojo - Harlequins (Epsom College)

Ehimen Osebor - Saracens (Haileybury College)

Tom Parkin - Yorkshire Carnegie (Rishworth School)

Kaden Pearce-Paul - Saracens (Ravens Wood School)

Dylan Power - Bristol Bears (Colston's School)

Ben Rowley - Worcester Warriors (Ellesmere College)

Mikey Summerfield - London Irish (Hartpury College)

Bailey Williams - Exeter Chiefs (Truro College)

New to Bath Rugby?

Join Bath Rugby for:

  • Epic, elite entertainment
  • Passionate, family-friendly atmosphere
  • Email Previews & Post-match reports

Find out more or enter your email address to get started.