skip to main content skip to accessibility policy

Match report

2 years ago

Bath Rugby fall to defeat against Saracens

Bath Rugby 0 v 22 Saracens

22 December 2012, KO 13:15

Recreation Ground
AVIVA Premiership

Substitution | Borthwick <> Sheriff 12' Penalty | Hodgson 14' Substitution | Sheriff <> Borthwick 18' Try | Wigglesworth 21' Conversion | Hodgson 22' Penalty | Hodgson 27' Penalty | Hodgson 33' Substitution | Borthwick <> Sheriff 44' Substitution | Sheriff <> Borthwick 45' Substitution | Vunipola <> Gill 51' Substitution | Wigglesworth <> de Kock 51' Penalty | Hodgson 59' Substitution | Fraser <> Saull 59' Substitution | Day <> Attwood 60' Substitution | Williams <> Hipkiss 60' Substitution | Brits <> George 64' Substitution | Ashton <> Short 64' Substitution | Mears <> Dunn 64' Substitution | Stevens <> Du Plessis 64' Substitution | Strettle <> Taylor 71' Substitution | Borthwick <> Sheriff 73' Penalty | Hodgson 74' Substitution | James <> Beech 76' Substitution | Wilson <> Perenise 76'



















22 December 2012, 5:31pm

Bath Rugby fall to defeat against Saracens

Bath Rugby fell to a 0-22 loss at the hands of Saracens at a rain-sodden Recreation Ground this afternoon.

Whilst it was 14 minutes before Charlie Hodgson landed his first penalty, the former Champions set about controlling the game early on, using the kicking game to secure territory and possession.

A superb tackle on the line from Louw six minutes later prevented Chris Ashton from scoring, but it wasn't long after that Richard Wigglesworth managed to wriggle his way over to finish off a good break from Hodgson. The fly-half converted, giving the visitors a 0-10 lead.

Donald had the opportunity to get some points on the board for the home side after Ashton infringed, but he couldn't convert from the difficult angle.

The fly-halves traded penalty attempts as the half drew to a close, and whilst Donald's next two attempts, both long range kicks from just inside the half-way line, were short, Hodgson was on target with his, meaning Saracens had a 0-16 lead going into the half-time break.

Bath came out in the second needing a response, and looked to start breaking down the tough visiting defence. They piled on the pressure, with the driving maul in particular working to good effect at driving the Saracens back. However, they were unable to convert the pressure into points, and Saracens cleared their lines when given the opportunity.

The home side kept plugging away, and after more driving work from the forwards, it looked as if Francois Louw had a way through to the try-line, but the covering tackle dislodged the greasy ball and the chance was lost.

A final penalty from Hodgson, after a miss moments before, sealed the win for the visitors and a grim afternoon for the home side in what was only their second home loss of the season, and the first in which they haven't secured a losing bonus point.

Match details

Referee: Greg Garner
Half Time score: 0-16



Tries: Wigglesworth (21)
Cons: Hodgson (22)
Pens: Hodgson (14,27,33,59,74)

Man of the match award

Francois Louw

Bath score card

Name Tries Conv Pen Drop Pts

Saracens score card

Name Tries Conv Pen Drop Pts
Charlie Hodgson 0 1 5 0 17
Richard Wigglesworth 1 0 0 0 5

Other results

22/12/12 London Irish 9 - 31 Leicester
22/12/12 Gloucester 18 - 16 Exeter
22/12/12 Northampton 9 - 18 Harlequins
Bath Rugby Lineup
Player image


Sam Vesty

Fly Half




P D C T Pos Player   Player Pos T C D P
FB Nick Abendanon15Chris Wyles FB
W Horacio Agulla14Chris Ashton W
C Kyle Eastmond13Joel Tomkins C
C Ben Williams12Owen Farrell C
W Tom Biggs11David Strettle W
FH Stephen Donald10Charlie Hodgson FH 1 5
SH Michael Claassens9Richard Wigglesworth SH 1
P Paul James1Mako Vunipola P
H Lee Mears2Schalk Brits H
P Dave Wilson3Matt Stevens P
L Stuart Hooper4Steve Borthwick L
L Dominic Day5Mouritz Botha L
FL Francois Louw6George Kruis FL
FL Guy Mercer7Will Fraser FL
8 Simon Taylor8Kelly Brown 8


rh Tom Dunn16Jamie George rh
rp Charlie Beech17Rhys Gill rp
rp Anthony Perenise18Petrus Du Plessis rp
r8 Dave Attwood19Eoin Sheriff r8
rfl Will Skuse20Andy Saull rfl
rsh Mark McMillan21Neil de Kock rsh
rfh Tom Heathcote22Duncan Taylor rfh
rc Dan Hipkiss23James Short rc